UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Women’s EURO in England: all you need to know

England will host the 16-team finals from 6 to 31 July 2022.

Old Trafford will stage the opening match on 6 July
Old Trafford will stage the opening match on 6 July UEFA via Getty Images

UEFA Women's EURO 2022 will be played from 6 to 31 July in England with 15 other nations joining the hosts.

See our full guide to the finals as top-level football returns to England a year on from the men's UEFA EURO.

Provisional schedule


The 16 sides will be drawn into four groups of four, with the top two in each section progressing to the knockout phase.

Draw: 28 October, Manchester

Register for tickets now


England received a bye to the finals while the remaining entrants competed in nine groups of five or six, with the last games in February 2021. The nine group winners and the three runners-up with the best record against the sides first, third, fourth and fifth in their section qualified directly. The other six runners-up played off on 9 and 13 April 2021 for the remaining three finals slots.

Qualified: Austria, Belgium, England (hosts), Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands (holders), Northern Ireland, Norway, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Tickets: key dates

Now: Register your interest in tickets
You can create your UEFA ticketing account now to register your interest ahead of the sales period.

Get involved: volunteer

28 October 2021: Finals draw

The public ballot will open following the draw.

Mid-February 2022: Ticket sales begin
Tickets go on general sale.

6 to 31 July 2022: The finals
Although all are planning for full stadiums in summer 2022, a robust refund policy will be in place if fixtures are postponed, cancelled, have reduced capacity or a change of venue is introduced due to COVID.

Show Your Heart campaign
Show Your Heart campaign


Brighton & Hove (Brighton & Hove Community Stadium)
London (Brentford Community Stadium & Wembley Stadium – final only)
Manchester (Manchester City Academy Stadium)
Milton Keynes (Stadium MK)
Rotherham (New York Stadium)
Sheffield (Bramall Lane)
Southampton (St Mary's Stadium)
Trafford (Old Trafford – opening game)
Wigan & Leigh (Leigh Sports Village)

Venue guide

Past finals

UEFA European Women's Championship
2017: Netherlands 4-2 Denmark; Enschede, Netherlands
2013: Germany 1-0 Norway; Solna, Sweden
2009: Germany 6-2 England; Helsinki, Finland
2005: Germany 3-1 Norway; Blackburn, England
2001: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Ulm, Germany
1997: Germany 2-0 Italy; Oslo, Norway
1995: Germany 3-2 Sweden; Kaiserslautern, Germany
1993: Norway 1-0 Italy; Cesena, Italy
1991: Germany 3-1 Norway (aet); Aalborg, Denmark
UEFA European Competition for Representative Women's Teams
1989: West Germany 4-1 Norway; Osnabruck, West Germany
1987: Norway 2-1 Sweden; Oslo, Norway
1984: Sweden 1-1 England (4-3 pens); two legs, Gothenburg and Luton