UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Women's EURO in England: Full tournament guide

All you need to know about the 16-team tournament in England, which runs from 6 to 31 July 2022.

Where is Women's EURO 2022 being held?

UEFA Women's EURO 2022 will be played from 6 to 31 July in England with 15 other nations joining the hosts.

There are venues in Brighton & Hove, London, Manchester, Milton Keynes, Rotherham, Sheffield, Southampton, Trafford, Wigan & Leigh.

It is the second time England have staged the competition after 2005, when Germany triumphed. The Netherlands won the last finals, in 2017, on home turf.

Finals groups

Group A: England (hosts), Austria, Norway, Northern Ireland

Group B: Germany, Denmark, Spain, Finland

Group C: Netherlands (holders), Sweden, Portugal*, Switzerland

*Portugal replace Russia

Group D: France, Italy, Belgium, Iceland

Women's EURO 2022 format

The 16 sides were drawn into four groups of four, with the top two in each section progressing to the knockout phase.

Women's EURO tickets: buy now

Women's EURO 2022 fixtures

All kick-off times are local time, CET is 1 hour ahead

Group stage:

Wednesday 6 July
Group A: England v Austria (20:00, Old Trafford)

Thursday 7 July
Group A: Norway vs Northern Ireland (20:00, Southampton)

2017 highlights: Germany 1-2 Denmark

Friday 8 July
Group B: Spain vs Finland (17:00, Milton Keynes)
Group B: Germany vs Denmark (20:00, Brentford)

Saturday 9 July
Group C: Portugal vs Switzerland (17:00, Wigan & Leigh)
Group C: Netherlands vs Sweden (20:00, Sheffield)

Sunday 10 July

Group D: Belgium vs Iceland (17:00, Manchester)
Group D: France vs Italy (20:00, Rotherham)

2005 highlights: France 3-1 Italy

Monday 11 July
Group A: Austria vs Northern Ireland (17:00, Southampton)
Group A: England v Norway (20:00, Brighton & Hove)

Tuesday 12 July

Group B: Denmark vs Finland (17:00, Milton Keynes)
Group B: Germany vs Spain (20:00, Brentford)

Wednesday 13 July
Group C: Sweden vs Switzerland (17:00, Sheffield)
Group C: Netherlands v Portugal (20:00, Wigan & Leigh)

Denmark vs Finland over the years

Thursday 14 July
Group D: Italy vs Iceland (17:00, Manchester)
Group D: France vs Belgium (20:00, Rotherham)

Friday 15 July

Group A: Northern Ireland v England (20:00, Southampton)
Group A: Austria vs Norway (20:00, Brighton & Hove)

Saturday 16 July
Group B: Finland vs Germany (20:00, Milton Keynes)
Group B: Denmark vs Spain (20:00, Brentford)

Sunday 17 July
Group C: Switzerland vs Netherlands (17:00, Sheffield)
Group C: Sweden vs Portugal (17:00, Wigan & Leigh)

Monday 18 July

2017 highlights: Sweden 2-0 Russia

Group D: Iceland vs France (20:00, Rotherham)
Group D: Italy vs Belgium (20:00, Manchester)

Knockout phase


Wednesday 20 July
QF1: Winners Group A v Runners-up Group B (20:00, Brighton & Hove)

Thursday 21 July
QF2: Winners Group B v Runners-up Group A (20:00, Brentford)

Friday 22 July
QF3: Winners Group C v Runners-up Group D (20:00, Wigan & Leigh)

Saturday 23 July
QF4: Winners Group D v Runners-up Group C (20:00, Rotherham)


Tuesday 26 July
SF1: Winners QF1 v Winners QF3 (20:00, Sheffield)

Wednesday 27 July
SF2: Winners QF2 v Winners QF4 (20:00, Milton Keynes)


Sunday 31 July
Winners SF1 v Winners SF2 (17:00, Wembley)

Where to watch: TV/streams

Women's EURO 2022 contenders

England received a bye to the finals while the remaining entrants competed in nine groups of five or six, with the last games in February 2021. The nine group winners and the three runners-up with the best record against the sides first, third, fourth and fifth in their section qualified directly. The other six runners-up played off on 9 and 13 April 2021 for the remaining three finals slots.

What do teams win

The current competition trophy was provided by Milan-based G.D.E. Bertoni, and unveiled in Manchester at the draw for the 2005 final tournament on 19 January of that year.

The original trophy, which is used for the official presentation ceremony at the final and at other official events approved by UEFA, remains in UEFA’s keeping and ownership at all times. A full-size replica trophy, the UEFA European Women's Championship winners’ trophy, is awarded to the winning association. The winning team is presented with 40 gold medals and the runner-up with 40 silver medals.

The champions will also face the winners of the 2022 CONMEBOL Copa América Femenina (played from 8 to 30 July in Colombia), in the first UEFA-CONMEBOL Women’s Finalissima, planned to be played in Europe, with the date (during an international window) and location of the event to be announced in due course.

Women's EURO 2022 tickets

Get involved: volunteer

Ticket sales

The public ballot opened following the draw and ran until 19:00 CET on 16 November. Tickets were on general sale from 28 March to 26 April and went back on sale from 12 May. Buy tickets here.

6 to 31 July: The finals

Although all are planning for full stadiums in July, a robust refund policy will be in place if fixtures are postponed, cancelled, have reduced capacity or a change of venue is introduced due to COVID.

Show Your Heart campaign

Women's EURO 2022 venues

Brighton & Hove (Brighton & Hove Community Stadium)
London (Brentford Community Stadium & Wembley Stadium – final only)
Manchester (Manchester City Academy Stadium)
Milton Keynes (Stadium MK)
Rotherham (New York Stadium)
Sheffield (Bramall Lane)
Southampton (St Mary's Stadium)
Trafford (Old Trafford – opening game)
Wigan & Leigh (Leigh Sports Village)

Venue guide

Women's EURO 2022 referees

Jana Adámková (Czech Republic)
Emikar Calderas Barrera (Venezuela)*
Iuliana Demetrescu (Romania)
Cheryl Foster (Wales)
Stéphanie Frappart (France)
Marta Huerta de Aza (Spain)
Riem Hussein (Germany)
Lina Lehtovaara (Finland)
Ivana Martinčić (Croatia)
Kateryna Monzul (Ukraine)
Tess Olofsson (Sweden)
Esther Staubli (Switzerland)
Rebecca Welch (England)

*Part of an exchange programme within the framework of the cooperation agreement between UEFA and the South American Football Confederation CONMEBOL.

Each refereeing team will consist of a referee, two assistant referees, a fourth official, and a team of two video assistant referees (VAR) at the stadium. Video assistant referees are being deployed for the first time at all matches in a UEFA Women’s EURO final tournament.

Full list of match officials

Women's EURO history: Past finals

UEFA European Women's Championship
2017: Netherlands 4-2 Denmark; Enschede, Netherlands
2013: Germany 1-0 Norway; Solna, Sweden
2009: Germany 6-2 England; Helsinki, Finland
2005: Germany 3-1 Norway; Blackburn, England
2001: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Ulm, Germany
1997: Germany 2-0 Italy; Oslo, Norway
1995: Germany 3-2 Sweden; Kaiserslautern, Germany
1993: Norway 1-0 Italy; Cesena, Italy
1991: Germany 3-1 Norway (aet); Aalborg, Denmark
UEFA European Competition for Representative Women's Teams
1989: West Germany 4-1 Norway; Osnabruck, West Germany
1987: Norway 2-1 Sweden; Oslo, Norway
1984: Sweden 1-1 England (4-3 pens); two legs, Gothenburg and Luton