Women's EURO 2021 qualifying guide

Holders the Netherlands are among seven sides with six points from two qualifiers.

The Netherlands have won both their games so far
The Netherlands have won both their games so far ©Getty Images

UEFA Women's EURO 2021 qualifying is in progress with a record 47 teams competing for 15 places alongside hosts England in the finals.

The groups

Group A: Netherlands (holders), Russia, Slovenia, Turkey, Kosovo, Estonia

  • The Netherlands and Russia both picked up six points from the first set of qualifiers while Kosovo beat Turkey 2-0 in their debut Women's EURO match.

Group B: Italy, Denmark, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Israel, Malta, Georgia

  • Denmark, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Italy all have a maximum six points.

Group C: Norway, Wales, Belarus, Northern Ireland, Faroe Islands

  • Wales have four points but conceded a late equaliser in a 2-2 home draw with Northern Ireland, who had lost 6-0 to Norway in Belfast.

Group D: Spain, Czech Republic, Poland, Moldova, Azerbaijan

  • In the only game so far, the Czech Republic won 7-0 in Moldova.

Group E: Scotland, Finland, Portugal, Albania, Cyprus

  • Cyprus lost their debut competitive international 8-0 in Scotland, with Kim Little scoring five, while Finland won 3-0 in Albania.

Group F: Sweden, Iceland, Hungary, Slovakia, Latvia

  • Iceland have won at home to Hungary and Slovakia while Latvia scored first against Sweden but lost 4-1.

Group G: France, Austria, Serbia, Kazakhstan, North Macedonia

  • Serbia won 3-0 in Kazakhstan and Austria beat North Macedonia in the two September games.

Group H: Switzerland, Belgium, Romania, Croatia, Lithuania

  • Belgium and Switzerland both won their opening games with Croatia on three points from two matches.

Group I: Germany, Ukraine, Republic of Ireland, Greece, Montenegro

  • Germany beat Montenegro 10-0 and won 8-0 in Ukraine, while the Republlic of Ireland have three points.

How qualifying works

Women’s EURO 2017: Watch all 68 goals now!
Women’s EURO 2017: Watch all 68 goals now!
  • The group winners and the three runners-up with the best record against the sides first, third, fourth and fifth in their sections will join hosts England in the final tournament.
  • The other six runners-up will play off in October 2020 for the remaining three berths in the 16-team finals to be held the following summer.

The lowdown

  • The Netherlands are defending champions and reached their first FIFA Women's World Cup final in 2019.
The Netherlands have the right to wear the champions' badge
The Netherlands have the right to wear the champions' badge©Getty Images

  • World Cup semi-finalists Sweden and England (as Great Britain) will join the Netherlands at the 2020 Olympic tournament in Japan.
  • France, Germany, Italy and Norway reached the World Cup quarter-finals, Spain went out in the last 16 and Scotland, on debut, fell in the group stage.
  • Denmark were EURO 2017 runners-up while Austria and England also made the semis.
  • Germany won every EURO from 1995 until 2017, when they fell to Denmark in the last eight, a run of six straight victories.
  • Germany have won eight titles and Norway two, while Sweden and the Netherlands have one each.

  • Cyprus are making their senior competitive debut while Kosovo are also in their first Women's EURO.
  • France and Austria were in the same group at UEFA Women's EURO 2017 and both made it through.
  • Finland coach Anna Signeul was in charge of Scotland when they made their finals debut in 2017.
  • Norway qualified ahead of Wales for the 2017 finals.
  • Portugal pipped Finland to the 2017 play-offs on their way to a debut finals.
  • Switzerland beat Belgium on away goals in the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup play-offs before losing to the Netherlands.

Road to England: calendar

Qualifying group stage draw: 13:30CET, 21 February 2019, Nyon
Qualifying group stage dates: 29 August–3 September 2019, 2–8 October 2019, 6–12 November 2019, 5–11 March 2020, 9–14 April 2020, 3–9 June 2020, 16–22 September 2020
Play-off draw: 25 September 2020, Nyon
Play-offs (two legs): 19–27 October 2020
Final tournament draw: late 2020, England
Final tournament: July 2021, England