Women's EURO 2021 qualifying: how it stands

See how the groups are unfolding and how the 15 sides to join England in the finals will be decided.

Norway stayed perfect on Friday with a win in front of a record crowd
Norway stayed perfect on Friday with a win in front of a record crowd ©Getty Images

UEFA Women's EURO 2021 qualifying is in progress with a record 47 teams competing for 15 places alongside hosts England in the finals.

Group A: Netherlands (holders), Russia, Slovenia, Kosovo, Turkey, Estonia

  • The Netherlands have five wins out of five, ending Russia's own perfect start with a 2-0 victory in Eindhoven in October then beating Turkey 8-0 away on Friday, with Slovenia visiting to end the year on Tuesday. Kosovo beat Turkey 2-0 in their debut Women's EURO match last month and have six points from three games after defeating Estonia, who themselves had got a first top-level point with their 0-0 draw in Istanbul. Slovenia have six points but have played a game more than Russia and Kosovo.
Italy are on five wins
Italy are on five wins©Domenic Aquilina

Group B: Italy, Denmark, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Israel, Malta, Georgia

  • Italy moved on to a maximum 15 points by beating Georgia 6-0 on Friday, while Denmark have four wins out of four with Bosnia and Herzegovina six further behind after losing to both the leaders in October. Malta and Israel drew on Thursday to get off the mark.

Group C: Norway, Wales, Belarus, Northern Ireland, Faroe Islands

  • Norway have four wins out of four, and in Friday's 6-0 victory against Northern Ireland in front of a home qualifying record crowd of 6,709, Caroline Graham Hansen getting two to take her qualifying tally to a competition-leading ten goals. Wales are five points and have a game in hand on Tuesday in Northern Ireland, who dramatically held Jayne Ludlow's side in September.

Group D: Spain, Czech Republic, Poland, Moldova, Azerbaijan

  • Spain opened in October with a 4-0 victory against Azerbaijan in front of a new record crowd of 10,444 in A Coruña and then won 5-1 in the Czech Republic to move three points clear of a side that beat Moldova 7-0 in August, though that gap was closed on Thursday when they Czechs won 4-0 in Azerbaijan. Poland open against Spain on Tuesday. Moldova got their first point on Sunday with a 3-1 defeat of Azerbaijan courtesy of two penalties by goalkeeper Natalia Munteanu.

Group E: Scotland, Finland, Portugal, Albania, Cyprus

  • Finland have three perfect wins and Scotland two after victories on Thursday and Friday respectively. Portugal won their opening game 1-0 in Albania in October; they host Finland on Tuesday.
Germany celebrate during their second 8-0 defeat of Ukraine
Germany celebrate during their second 8-0 defeat of Ukraine©Getty Images

Group F: Sweden, Iceland, Hungary, Slovakia, Latvia

  • Sweden and Iceland both have a maximum nine points with Slovakia, who have lost to each but have four points from their games against Latvia and Hungary.

Group G: France, Austria, Serbia, Kazakhstan, North Macedonia

  • Austria have three wins out of three after a 3-0 win in North Macedonia on Friday while France have two perfect victories, Amel Majri's hat-trick on Saturday helping them win 6-0 against Serbia (who have six points from four games).
Vera Pauw enjoys her opening win as Ireland coach
Vera Pauw enjoys her opening win as Ireland coach©Sportsfile

Group H: Switzerland, Belgium, Romania, Croatia, Lithuania

  • Switzerland with three wins and Belgium on two have both made perfect starts. Croatia have lost to each but have three points from an opening win in Lithuania.

Group I: Germany, Ukraine, Republic of Ireland, Greece, Montenegro

  • Germany beat Montenegro 10-0 and won 8-0 away and at home against Ukraine before a 5-0 victory in Greece. The Republlic of Ireland are also perfect after two games, the second win a crucial 3-2 defeat of Ukraine in Vera Pauw's first game in charge. Greece won 4-0 in Montenegro on Wednesday and host Irreland on Tuesday.

How qualifying works

Women’s EURO 2017: Watch all 68 goals now!
Women’s EURO 2017: Watch all 68 goals now!
  • The group winners and the three runners-up with the best record against the sides first, third, fourth and fifth in their sections will join hosts England in the final tournament.
  • The other six runners-up will play off in October 2020 for the remaining three berths in the 16-team finals to be held the following summer.

The lowdown

  • The Netherlands are defending champions and reached their first FIFA Women's World Cup final in 2019.
The Netherlands have the right to wear the champions' badge
The Netherlands have the right to wear the champions' badge©Getty Images

  • World Cup semi-finalists Sweden and England (as Great Britain) will join the Netherlands at the 2020 Olympic tournament in Japan.
  • France, Germany, Italy and Norway reached the World Cup quarter-finals, Spain went out in the last 16 and Scotland, on debut, fell in the group stage.
  • Denmark were EURO 2017 runners-up while Austria and England also made the semis.
  • Germany won every EURO from 1995 until 2017, when they fell to Denmark in the last eight, a run of six straight victories.
  • Germany have won eight titles and Norway two, while Sweden and the Netherlands have one each.

  • Cyprus are making their senior competitive debut while Kosovo are also in their first Women's EURO.
  • France and Austria were in the same group at UEFA Women's EURO 2017 and both made it through.
  • Finland coach Anna Signeul was in charge of Scotland when they made their finals debut in 2017.
  • Norway qualified ahead of Wales for the 2017 finals.
  • Portugal pipped Finland to the 2017 play-offs on their way to a debut finals.
  • Switzerland beat Belgium on away goals in the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup play-offs before losing to the Netherlands.

Road to England: calendar

Qualifying group stage draw: 13:30CET, 21 February 2019, Nyon
Qualifying group stage dates: 29 August–3 September 2019, 2–8 October 2019, 6–12 November 2019, 5–11 March 2020, 9–14 April 2020, 3–9 June 2020, 16–22 September 2020
Play-off draw: 25 September 2020, Nyon
Play-offs (two legs): 19–27 October 2020
Final tournament draw: late 2020, England
Final tournament: July 2021, England