The official website for European football

FIFA Women's World Cup fixtures/results

Published: Sunday 23 June 2019, 19.51CET
A European finalist is already assured on 7 July: see all the results so far and the fixtures to come.
FIFA Women's World Cup fixtures/results
Germany started the knockouts by beating Nigeria ©Getty Images
Published: Sunday 23 June 2019, 19.51CET

FIFA Women's World Cup fixtures/results

A European finalist is already assured on 7 July: see all the results so far and the fixtures to come.


  • Seven European quarter-finalists is a new World Cup record (had been five).
  • Germany have now reached at least the quarter-finals in all eight FIFA Women's World Cups while Italy have got to that stage for the first time since the inaugural 1991 edition.
  • France's win against Norway was their first in seven competitive matches with the 1995 world champions.
  • France will be the first World Cup hosts the United States have ever met (they will also be the eighth different team the US have faced in the quarter-finals, and they have beaten the other seven).
  • Italy's Aurora Galli has equalled the record of three goals as a substitute at a World Cup.
  • Jenni Hermoso became the first player to score two penalties in a World Cup game as Spain came from behind to beat South Africa.
  • Scotland, one of four debutants with South Africa, Jamaica and Chile, are the only European team to fall in the group stage after seeing a 3-0 lead wiped out by Argentina, including a late, retaken penalty.
  • Vivianne Miedema's two goals in the Netherlands' 3-1 win against Cameroon meant took her to a new record of 60 Dutch international goals, one ahead of Manon Melis.


©Getty Images

Friday 7 June
Group A: France 4-0 South Korea (Paris)

Saturday 8 June
Group B: Germany 1-0 China (Rennes)
Group B: Spain 3-1 South Africa (Le Havre)
Group A: Norway 3-0 Nigeria (Reims)

Sunday 9 June
Group C: Australia 1-2 Italy (Valenciennes)
Group C: Brazil 3-0 Jamaica (Grenoble)
Group D: England 2-1 Scotland (Nice)

©Getty Images

Monday 10 June
Group D: Argentina 0-0 Japan (Paris)
Group E: Canada 1-0 Cameroon (Montpellier)

Tuesday 11 June
Group E: New Zealand 0-1 Netherlands (Le Havre)
Group F: Chile 0-2 Sweden (Rennes)
Group F: United States 13-0 Thailand (Reims)

Wednesday 12 June
Group A: Nigeria 2-0 South Korea (Grenoble)
Group B: Germany 1-0 Spain (Valenciennes)
Group A: France 2-1 Norway (Nice)

©Getty Images

Thursday 13 June
Group C: Australia 3-2 Brazil (Montpellier)
Group B: South Africa 0-1 China (Paris)

Friday 14 June
Group D: Japan 2-0 Scotland (Rennes)
Group C: Jamaica 0-5 Italy (Reims)
Group D: England 1-0 Argentina (Le Havre)

Saturday 15 June
Group E: Netherlands 3-1 Cameroon (Valenciennes)
Group E: Canada 2-0 New Zealand (Grenoble)

Sunday 16 June
Group F: Sweden 5-1 Thailand (Nice)
Group F: United States 3-0 Chile (Paris)

©Getty Images

Monday 17 June
Group B: China 0-0 Spain (Le Havre)
Group B: South Africa 0-4 Germany (Montpellier)
Group A: Nigeria 1-2 France (Rennes)
Group A: South Korea 0-1 Norway (Reims)

Tuesday 18 June
Group C: Jamaica 1-4 Australia (Grenoble)
Group C: Italy 0-1 Brazil (Valenciennes)

Wednesday 19 June
Group D: Japan 0-2 England (Nice)
Group D: Scotland 3-3 Argentina (Paris)

Thursday 20 June
Group E: Cameroon 2-1 New Zealand (Montpellier)
Group E: Netherlands 2-1 Canada (Reims)
Group F: Sweden 0-2 United States (Le Havre)
Group F: Thailand 0-2 Chile (Rennes)

Round of 16:
Saturday 22 June
38: Germany 3-0 Nigeria (Grenoble)
37: Norway 1-1aet, 4-1pens Australia (Nice)
Sunday 23 June
39: England 3-0 Cameroon (Valenciennes)
40: France 2-1aet Brazil (Le Havre)
Monday 24 June
41: Spain 1-2 United States (Reims)
42: Sweden 1-0 Canada (Paris)
Tuesday 25 June
43: Italy 2-0 China (Montpellier)
44: Netherlands 2-1 Japan (Rennes)

Thursday 27 June
45: Norway v England (21:00, Le Havre)
Friday 28 June
46: France v United States (21:00, Paris)
Saturday 29 June
47: Italy v Netherlands (15:00, Valenciennes)
48: Germany v Sweden (18:30, Rennes)

Tuesday 2 July
49: Norway/England v France/United States (21:00, Lyon)
Wednesday 3 July
50: Italy/Netherlands v Germany/Sweden (21:00, Lyon)

Third-place play-off:
Saturday 6 July (17:00, Nice)

Sunday 7 July (17:00, Lyon)

All times CET


The top three European finishers will represent UEFA at the 2020 Olympic women's football tournament in Japan. Only the stage of the competition reached by the teams determines the entitlement of the teams to qualify, i.e. no other factors are taken into account, such as the number of points or goal difference.

As Great Britain only enters one Olympic team, only England's results will count towards a possible British team in Japan rather than Scotland, as confirmed by FIFA following an agreement between the four British associations of England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.

If the number of teams eliminated at a particular stage of the competition exceeds the number of available slots, play-off matches (in principle in February/March 2020) would be used to determine Europe’s representatives at the Olympics.

A maximum of four teams would be eligible to contest play-offs, given the fact that only one international window is available for play-offs. Should more than four teams be eliminated at the same stage of the competition, the following criteria would be used to limit the number of teams qualifying for the play-offs to four:

a. higher number of points obtained in the FIFA Women’s World Cup group stage
b. superior goal difference obtained in the FIFA Women’s World Cup group stage
c. higher number of goals scored in the FIFA Women’s World Cup group stage
d. lower disciplinary points based only on yellow and red cards received in the FIFA Women’s World Cup group stage (red card = 3 points, yellow card = 1 point, expulsion for two yellow cards in one match = 3 points);
e. position in the UEFA women’s national team coefficient ranking generated at the time of the play-off draw for the European Qualifiers for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup as per Annex B, B.1.2 b. of the 2017-19 Regulations of the UEFA European Qualifying Competition for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Past World Cup finals (European teams in bold)
2015: United States 5-2 Japan; Vancouver, Canada
2011: Japan 2-2 United States (aet, 3-1 pens); Frankfurt, Germany
2007: Germany 2-0 Brazil; Shanghai, China
2003: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Carson, United States
1999: United States 0-0 China (aet, 5-4 pens); Pasadena, United States
1995: Norway 2-0 Germany; Stockholm, Sweden
1991: United States 2-1 Norway; Guangzhou, China

Past Olympic medallists (European teams in bold)
2016: Germany (gold), Sweden (silver), Canada (bronze); Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2012: United States (gold), Japan (silver), Canada (bronze); London, United Kingdom
2008: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Beijing, China
2004: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Athens, Greece
2000: Norway (gold), United States (silver), Germany (bronze); Sydney, Australia
1996: United States (gold), China (silver), Norway (bronze); Atlanta, United States

Last updated: 25/06/19 23.04CET