Select a month

13 July 2014
13 July 2014 - FIFA World Cup, Final
Germany win after extra time
Referee: Nicola Rizzoli (ITA) – Stadium: Maracana, Rio de Janeiro (BRA)
07/13/2014 22:40:00
12 July 2014
12 July 2014 - FIFA World Cup, Third place
Referee: Djamel Haimoudi (ALG) – Stadium: Mane Garrincha, Brasilia (BRA)
07/12/2014 22:53:40
9 July 2014
Argentina win 4-2 on penalties
Referee: Cüneyt Çakır (TUR) – Stadium: Arena de Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo (BRA)
07/09/2014 23:46:09
8 July 2014
Referee: Marco Rodriquez (MEX) – Stadium: Estadio Mineirão, Belo Horizonte (BRA)
07/08/2014 22:51:22
5 July 2014
Referee: Nicola Rizzoli (ITA) – Stadium: Mane Garrincha, Brasilia (BRA)
07/05/2014 18:53:31
Netherlands0-0Costa Rica
Netherlands win 4-3 on penalties
Referee: Ravshan Irmatov (UZB) – Stadium: Mangabeira, Salvador De Bahia (BRA)
07/05/2014 23:49:36
4 July 2014
Referee: Nestor Fabian Pitana (ARG) – Stadium: Maracana, Rio de Janeiro (BRA)
07/04/2014 18:58:09
Referee: Carlos Velasco Carballo (ESP) – Stadium: Estadio Castelao, Fortaleza (BRA)
07/04/2014 23:23:58
1 July 2014
Argentina win after extra time
Referee: Jonas Eriksson (SWE) – Stadium: Arena de Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo (BRA)
07/01/2014 20:43:19
Belgium win after extra time
Referee: Djamel Haimoudi (ALG) – Stadium: Mangabeira, Salvador De Bahia (BRA)
07/01/2014 23:32:54

Last updated: 30/03/2015 14:29 CET

Road to the final

European qualifying for the 2014 FIFA World Cup consisted of a group stage and a play-off round, providing 13 UEFA member nations for the 32-team final tournament in Brazil.

Qualifying group stage
Matches took place between 7 September 2012 and 15 October 2013 with eight groups of six teams and one of five. The nine group winners qualified directly for the finals and the eight runners-up with the best record against the teams finishing first, third, fourth and fifth in their section went into the play-offs.

The eight teams were drawn into four pairings for two-legged ties played from 15 to 19 November 2013. If scores were level after the second leg the team with the most away goals qualified, whether after 90 minutes or extra time. The four winners qualified for the finals.

Final tournament
The allocation for other confederations is: Asian Football Confederation (AFC) 4.5, Confederation of African Football (CAF) 5.0, Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) 3.5, South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) 4.5, Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) 0.5, and one slot for the hosts Brazil. The teams were drawn into eight groups of four with the top two going into the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the
official competition regulations.

  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.