UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.
How we work

UEFA Executive Committee

Executive Commitee

The UEFA Executive Committee comprises the UEFA president and 19 other members:16 elected by the UEFA Congress (including at least one female member), two by the European Club Association and one by the European Leagues. All members hold the same rights and duties.

The UEFA Executive Committee on 8 February 2024 following the 48th Congress
The UEFA Executive Committee on 8 February 2024 following the 48th Congress UEFA via Getty Images

Members and vice-presidents

The UEFA Executive Committee should not include more than one representative of the same UEFA member association. This rule does not apply to either the female member or members elected by the European Club Association (ECA) and European Leagues. Members elected by the ECA cannot belong to clubs affiliated to the same member association.

• Each candidate standing for election to the committee should hold an active office (i.e. president, vice-president, general secretary or chief executive officer) within their member association – with the exception of the UEFA president and any female member.

• On proposal of the president, the committee elects a first vice-president, four other vice-presidents and a treasurer (with the same status as a vice-president). The president may assign specific duties to each of the vice-presidents.

Special advisor

The president may invite third parties to attend Executive Committee meetings in an advisory capacity. 

Term of office

Both the president and Executive Committee members elected by the UEFA Congress hold office for four years. Eight members, or eight members (including at least one female) and the president, are elected every two years. The term of office for ECA and European League representatives is also four years.

• No person may serve as president or an Executive Committee member for more than three terms of office – consecutive or not. Anyone aged 70 or more is not eligible for election or re-election.

• If a vacancy occurs, the next Ordinary UEFA Congress elects or ratifies a replacement for the remaining term of office. If the vacancy occurs in the final year of a member's term of office, no replacement is elected or ratified.

• The term of office of the president and Executive Committee members starts immediately after the congress at which they are elected or ratified and finishes at the close of the congress that elects or ratifies their successors.


The Executive Committee usually meets once every two months, convened by the president. The committee has a quorum of more than half of its voting members, including the president or, in his absence, a vice-president.


The Executive Committee is empowered to adopt regulations and make decisions on all matters that do not fall within the legal or statutory jurisdiction of the UEFA Congress or another organ. The committee manages UEFA, except to the extent that it has delegated such management, or unless such management has been delegated by the UEFA Statutes to the president or the UEFA administration.


Executive Committee decisions are effective immediately, unless otherwise stated. Members or the president cannot participate in the deliberation of any matter or point of issue involving an association/club/league affiliated to their member association, or where a conflict of interest exists.


• Overall control of UEFA and the issuing of necessary instructions

• Definition of the organisational structure

• Form and supervision of bookkeeping

• Appointment of the members of the UEFA Governance and Compliance Committee and the issuing of their terms of reference

• Appointment of the general secretary and deputy general secretary(ies) upon proposal of the UEFA president

• Dismissal of the general secretary and deputy general secretary(ies) upon the proposal of the UEFA president, or by a decision supported by two-thirds or more of all members of the UEFA Executive Committee

• Overall supervision of the UEFA administration, including the general secretary and deputy general secretary(ies), especially in terms of observance of laws, the UEFA Statutes, regulations and orders, approval of the annual business plan of the UEFA administration

• Compilation of a written report for presentation to the Ordinary UEFA Congress

• Examination of the administration's report (the UEFA annual report) to the Ordinary UEFA Congress

The Executive Committee may delegate the preparation and implementation of its decisions or the supervision of business to one or more of its members. The committee is also authorised to delegate management, either fully or partly, to the president, to one or more of its members and/or to the UEFA administration.

UEFA honorary president/members

UEFA may appoint honorary presidents or honorary members based on exceptional contributions to European football, as proposed by the Executive Committee. Honorary presidents and honorary members are allowed to attend our annual congress in an advisory capacity, but they do not have voting rights. Honorary presidents may attend Executive Committee meetings in an advisory capacity only.

UEFA honorary members

• Gerhard Aigner (Germany)

• Şenes Erzik (Turkey)

• Vyacheslav Koloskov (Russia)

• Marios N. Lefkaritis (Cyprus)

• Antonio Matarrese (Italy)

• Joseph Mifsud (Malta)

• Per Ravn Omdal (Norway)

• Michael van Praag (Netherlands)

• Giangiorgio Spiess (Switzerland)

• Grigoriy Surkis (Ukraine)

• Geoffrey Thompson (England)