UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Spain face Ukraine in finals draw

The finals draw has set up group games including Spain against Ukraine, hosts Croatia versus the Czech Republic, Italy meeting Russia, and Portugal, Azerbaijan and Serbia in the same group.

Group B coaches Andrej Dobovičnik (left, Slovenia), José Venancio López (Spain) and Gennadiy Lysenchuk (Ukraine)
Group B coaches Andrej Dobovičnik (left, Slovenia), José Venancio López (Spain) and Gennadiy Lysenchuk (Ukraine) ©UEFA.com

Spain will begin their bid for a fourth straight continental title against Ukraine and Slovenia after the UEFA Futsal EURO 2012 draw was made at Zagreb's Hypo Expo XXI conference centre.

Croatia will be the venue for the 12-team tournament from 31 January until 11 February. The contenders were split into four groups of three by newly unveiled tournament ambassador Robert Jarni and his fellow former international Davor Šuker.

While Spain, champions in 2001, 2005, 2007 and 2010, are in Group B with two-time runners-up Ukraine and Slovenia, the hosts open against Romania and then face 2010 bronze-medallists the Czech Republic in Group A.

Perhaps the toughest section is Group D, comprising 2010 runners-up Portugal, semi-finalists Azerbaijan and quarter-finalists Serbia. Debutants Turkey must face former champions Italy and Russia in Group C.

A full fixture schedule will be announced shortly with the top two from each section progressing to the quarter-finals, which like the group stage will be held in the Zagreb Arena and Split's Spaladium Arena, with the capital staging the semi-finals, third-placed play-off and final. Prior to that the 12 finalists will be among the teams in action when FIFA Futsal World Cup qualification begins in October and December.

Group A (Split)
Croatia (hosts)
Czech Republic

Group B (Zagreb)
Spain (holders)

Group C (Split)

Group D (Zagreb)