Format & regulations

UEFA European Futsal Championship format & regulations

Format & regulations
Format & regulations ©Sportsfile

The biennial UEFA European Futsal Championship has been showcasing the continent's top futsal players since its inception as the UEFA European Futsal Tournament in 1996. For 2022 an entirely new qualifying format began, with a qualifying round, qualifying round play-offs, a new home-and-away qualifying group stage and play-offs.

The finals were expanded from eight to 12 in 2010, and put back to January/February in order to occupy a previously vacant slot in the UEFA calendar. After 2018 the tournament moved to every four years, with 16 teams in the finals. Four groups of four are played with the two two in each going to the quarter-finals. From then on it is a knockout competition, with extra time and penalty shoot-outs used to decide the winner if necessary except for the final, where ten minutes' extra time is played if the scores are level at full time.

The regulations for the UEFA European Futsal Championship are initially drawn up by the UEFA Administration before being submitted to the UEFA National Team Competitions Committee. They are then forwarded upon that committee's approval to the UEFA Executive Committee for ratification.