UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Sweden first to reach main round

A 4-2 victory against Andorra enabled Sweden to become the first preliminary round group winners with head-to-head meetings set to decide the fate of three other sections.

Moldova celebrate during their thrilling 5-5 draw with Georgia
Moldova celebrate during their thrilling 5-5 draw with Georgia ©Domenic Aquilina

A 4-2 victory against Andorra was enough for Sweden to become the first side to book their place in the main round of UEFA Futsal EURO 2014 qualifying.

Both Sweden and Andorra had won their opening fixtures and Israel's subsequent 5-2 success against Estonia in today's earlier Group E game gave the Scandinavian team the chance to progress with a match to spare. It was an opportunity they did not pass up in Andorra la Vella, with goals late in each half by Mentor Zhubi key to their triumph.

The three other four-team groups in action on Thursday will be decided by last-day contests. Hosts France must overcome Montenegro on Saturday to overhaul them in Group A, after the two countries' respective 6-2 and 11-0 wins against Gibraltar and San Marino. In Group F, Norway and Denmark have six points apiece after beating Albania 5-2 and home side Switzerland 3-2; the former head the section on goal difference ahead of Saturday's showdown.

Greece have the only perfect record in Group D after thrashing Armenia 5-0 and, to go through, need to avoid defeat at the weekend against second-placed hosts Bulgaria, who saw off Wales 2-1. Finally, Georgia face a nervous wait in the three-team Group B after drawing 5-5 with Moldova. The Moldovans will win the pool if they overcome home nation Malta by a better scoreline than 9-0.

All these mini-tournaments conclude on Saturday while tomorrow Group C begins with hosts Lithuania facing England.

Main round draw
(27–30 March)
Group 1: Italy*, Hungary, Finland, Winner Group A

Group 2: Azerbaijan, Slovakia*, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Winner Group F

Group 3: Russia, Romania, Kazakhstan, Latvia*

Group 4: Spain*, Croatia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Winner Group E

Group 5: Portugal, Serbia*, Poland, Winner Group D

Group 6: Czech Republic, Belarus, Netherlands*, Winner Group B

Group 7: Ukraine, Slovenia, Turkey*, Winner Group C

* Hosts