UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Italy start Futsal EURO title defence in Poland

Italy, who in February won the UEFA European Futsal Championship for the second time, will begin their title defence in Poland following the preliminary and main round draws.

Holders Italy will face Belarus and Poland after the draw was made for UEFA Futsal EURO 2016 qualifying.

Of the record entry of 46 teams – among them hosts Serbia – 24 will start in January's preliminary round, including debutants Scotland. They play Israel, Armenia and Sweden, with the six preliminary group winners and best runners-up through to the main round, which was also drawn today.

At that stage there will be seven groups, with Italy up against the winners of preliminary round Group B as well as Belarus and Poland. Spain – who missed out on a fifth straight title in Antwerp last February, coming in third – take on Hungary, FYR Macedonia and the best preliminary round runners-up.

Full draw
*Mini-tournament hosts
Preliminary round: 14–17January 2015

Group A: Greece, Bulgaria*, Denmark, Gibraltar

Group B: Finland, Montenegro*, Cyprus, Wales

Group C: Georgia, Lithuania*, Switzerland, Estonia

Group D: France, Moldova*, Albania, San Marino

Group E: Latvia, England, Andorra, Malta*

Group F: Israel, Armenia, Sweden*, Scotland

• The six group winners plus the best runners-up join the 21 sides given a bye to the main round.

Main round: 18–21 March 2015
Group 1: Russia, Netherlands, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Winner of preliminary round Group E

Group 2: Spain, Hungary, FYR Macedonia*, Best runners-up

Group 3: Italy, Belarus, Poland*, Winner of Group B

Group 4: Ukraine, Azerbaijan*, Belgium, Winner of Group A

Group 5: Czech Republic, Slovenia*, Norway, Winner of Group D

Group 6: Croatia*, Slovakia, Turkey, Winner of Group F

Group 7: Portugal, Romania*, Kazakhstan, Winner of Group C

• The seven group winners will progress to join hosts Serbia in the final tournament from 2–13 February 2016.

•  The seven runners-up plus the best third-placed team will enter the play-offs on 15 and 22 September 2015 (drawn on 10 June). The winners of the four two-legged ties will complete the 12-nation lineup for the finals.

Selected for you