UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

European forces to collide in quarter-finals

There will be two all-European quarter-finals at the FIFA Futsal World Cup with Spain meeting Russia, and Portugal up against Italy following the conclusion of the round of 16 in Thailand.

Italy celebrate their victory against Egypt in Thailand
Italy celebrate their victory against Egypt in Thailand ©Getty Images

Europe will have five representatives in the FIFA Futsal World Cup quarter-finals after Italy, Portugal, Russia, Spain and Ukraine booked their places with comfortable wins.

Ricardinho scored two late goals as Portugal swept aside Paraguay 4-1 on Sunday to become the first team to advance from the round of 16. Iberian neighbours Spain, the only side other than Brazil to win the global competition, dispatched hosts Thailand 7-1 to join them.

Italy, who topped their group unbeaten, further strengthened their World Cup credentials, as Saad Assis struck a scintillating hat-trick in a commanding 5-1 success against Egypt. The Czech Republic lost out in the only all-European last-16 tie after a 3-0 defeat by Russia.

On Monday, finals debutants Serbia also fell, losing 2-1 in a closely contested match with Argentina. Brazil flexed their goalscoring muscles in a resounding 16-0 success against Panama, meanwhile, and Ukraine survived a spirited second-half comeback to prevail 6-3 against Japan. Colombia complete the quarter-final lineup after edging out Iran 2-1.

45: ARG v BRA, Indoor Stadium Huamark
46: COL v UKR, Indoor Stadium Huamark
47: POR v ITA, Nimibutr Stadium
48: ESP v RUS, Nimibutr Stadium

49: POR/ITA v ESP/RUS, Indoor Stadium Huamark
50: ARG/BRA v COL/UKR, Indoor Stadium Huamark

Final & Third-place play-off
Sunday, Indoor Stadium Huamark

Previous finals (hosts)
2008: Brazil 2-2, 4-3 pens Spain (Brazil)
2004: Spain 2-1 Italy (Chinese Taipei)
2000: Spain 4-3 Brazil (Guatemala)
1996: Brazil 6-4 Spain (Spain)
1992: Brazil 4-1 United States (Hong Kong)
1989: Brazil 2-1 Netherlands (Netherlands)