UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Futsal World Cup main round draw made

The draw set 12 groups of three teams to be played by 8 March 2023.


The FIFA Futsal World Cup main round draw set 12 groups of three teams to be played by 8 March 2023.

Full qualifying format and calendar
  • The 36 teams were drawn into 12 groups of three teams, played home and away.
  • The 12 group winners and four best runners-up progress directly to the elite round.
  • The remaining eight runners-up enter main round play-offs.
  • Portugal hope to defend their title in the 2024 finals, Spain are two-time champions.

Main round groups

Group 1: Spain, Moldova, Cyprus

Group 2: Georgia, Belgium, Austria

Group 3: Czech Republic, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Armenia

Group 4: Portugal (holders), Belarus, Lithuania

Group 5: Kazakhstan, Slovenia, Montenegro

Group 6: Azerbaijan, Poland, Greece

Group 7: Croatia, Hungary, Israel

Group 8: Finland, Romania, Denmark

Group 9: Serbia, France, Norway

Group 10: Italy, North Macedonia, Sweden

Group 11: Ukraine, Netherlands, Kosovo

Group 12: Slovakia, Latvia, Germany

Match dates

17–20 September 2022
5–12 October 2022
8–9 November 2022
1–8 March 2023

Road to the finals

Main round play-off draw: 10 March 2023, Nyon 
Main round play-offs: 10–19 April 2023
Elite round draw: 8 June 2023
Elite round: Home and away groups to be completed by 20 December 2023
Elite round play-off draw: 25 January 2024, Nyon
Elite round play-offs: 8–17 April 2024


The 23 teams with the highest coefficients of the 47 entrants* as of November 2021 start in the main round group stage: Spain, Portugal (holders), Kazakhstan, Croatia, Serbia, Azerbaijan, Italy, Czech Republic, Ukraine, Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Poland, Finland, Romania, Slovakia, Georgia, Belarus, Netherlands, Hungary, France, Belgium, Latvia, North Macedonia.

*Russia suspended

The remaining 13 spots are filled by the top two teams in each of the six preliminary round groups, plus the best third-placed team: Armenia, Austria, Cyprus, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Israel, Kosovo, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, Norway**, Sweden.

**Best third-placed team.

Draw procedure

The 36 teams were split into three pots based on their ranking. Twelve groups were formed, each with one team from each of the three pots.

Based on decisions taken by the UEFA Executive Committee, the following pairs of teams could not be drawn in the same group: Armenia and Azerbaijan, Belarus and Ukraine, Kosovo and Bosnia & Herzegovina, Kosovo and Serbia.

Seeding pots

Pot 1: Portugal (holders), Spain, Kazakhstan, Croatia, Serbia, Azerbaijan, Ukraine, Italy, Czech Republic, Georgia, Finland, Slovakia

Pot 2: Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Poland, Romania, Netherlands, Belarus, Hungary, France, Belgium, Latvia, North Macedonia, Moldova

Pot 3: Montenegro, Kosovo, Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Armenia, Germany, Greece, Israel, Cyprus, Lithuania, Austria

Selected for you