UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Awards

Robert Lewandowski receives his award in 2020
Robert Lewandowski receives his award in 2020 ©Getty Images

At the start of each new season, UEFA stages an annual awards ceremony to recognise the best player and coach performances from the previous editions of its mens’ and women’s club competitions.

Since 1998, the UEFA President’s award has also acknowledged an outstanding individual or group achievement, whose impact transcends the game.

What are the categories for UEFA’s player awards?

In addition to the overall titles of Men’s Player of the Year, Men’s Coach of the Year, Women’s Player of the Year, and Women’s Coach of the Year, UEFA also presents positional awards to the top goalkeeper, defender, midfielder and forward for each of the Men’s and Women’s Champions League competitions. There is a separate award for the UEFA Europa League Player of the season.

When and where were the 2020/21 player awards announced?

The national association of Turkey hosted the 2021/22 UEFA Awards ceremony on 26 August in Istanbul. See the full list of winners

Who decides the player awards?

For the 2020/21 awards, the jury for the men’s club competition awards incorporated the coaches of all 24 national teams that participated in UEFA EURO 2020 as well as coaches of the 80 clubs that played the group stages of the Champions League and Europa League. In addition, the European Sports Media (ESM) group selected 55 journalists - one for each of UEFA’s 55 member associations - to join the jury.

For the Women’s Champions League awards, the jury was composed of the coaches whose clubs participated in the round of 16 of the 2020/21 competition, together with the coaches of the 12 highest-ranked teams in the UEFA women’s national team rankings. Twenty journalists specialising in women’s football and selected by the ESM group also formed part of the jury.

Previous winners