Other UEFA awards

HatTrick awards
A cornerstone of UEFA's work is its relationship with its 55 member national associations – and European football's governing body has given the associations even more recognition by introducing the UEFA HatTrick Awards.

The Romanian Football Federation (FRF) won a UEFA HatTrick Award for its women's football work
The Romanian Football Federation (FRF) won a UEFA HatTrick Award for its women's football work©FRF

Since 2003, UEFA's HatTrick programme has given invaluable assistance to national associations across the continent in sporting, administrative and infrastructure terms. The premise is to direct revenue generated by UEFA's major competitions back into the sport, and encourage national associations to upgrade their facilities and develop the game on and off the field of play. 

The UEFA HatTrick Awards are presented each year and are open to all of the 55 UEFA member associations. Five award areas have been drawn up: Best Investment Project; Best Social Project; Best Special Project; Best Women's Football Development project; and Best Host Project.

Each association is entitled to enter one project from one of the five categories every year, and projects should fulfil given criteria to be eligible. These include mid to long-term legacy, impact of football's development in the country and impact on specific social target groups.

The UEFA HatTrick Committee reviews all of the entries and votes for the best entry in each category. UEFA is confident that the HatTrick Awards will further encourage the member associations to launch projects for the overall well-being of the European game.

Grassroots Awards
Each year, UEFA celebrates the immense value of football's vital grassroots with the UEFA Grassroots Week – and excellence in the European grassroots sector is rewarded by the UEFA Grassroots Awards.

RWDM Girls (Belgium) - UEFA Grassroots Award winners
RWDM Girls (Belgium) - UEFA Grassroots Award winners©UEFA.com

The event, which takes place in September each year, sees grassroots events featuring young and old taking place across Europe, underlining UEFA's stance that elite football cannot flourish without healthy grassroots – and serves as a firm reminder that football is available to all, irrespective of size, shape, colour or faith. 

The Grassroots Awards aim to recognise outstanding achievements in grassroots football. UEFA rewards the winners with gold, silver and bronze prizes in three key areas – best leader, best project and best grassroots club.

Each of the nominees from throughout Europe is recommended by the UEFA Grassroots Panel and the UEFA Development and Technical Assistance Committee, and ratified by the UEFA Executive Committee.

KISS Marketing Awards
Europe's national associations are producing outstanding work in the field of marketing – and are being rewarded for their excellence by UEFA's annual KISS Marketing Awards.

The 2016 KISS Marketing Award winners' ceremony
The 2016 KISS Marketing Award winners' ceremony©Yorgos Matthaios

The marketing awards are staged under the auspices of UEFA's Knowledge & Information Sharing Scenario (KISS) – the programme whereby FAs exchange expertise for the overall improvement of European football. Excellence is celebrated in what is a crucial area of modern-day football, given that marketing helps nurture the identity of a national team, club or fan base. 

The awards demonstrate the excellent promotion of football that is going on across UEFA's associations – work which fully justifies UEFA's strong support, and which provides constant mutual inspiration for all of the associations.

Award categories are Best Brand Activation; Best Fan Engagement Campaign; Best Commercial Partnership; Best Grassroots Marketing Campaign and Best Women's Football Marketing Campaign. Awards for creativity and innovation are also given in each category.

Latest articles