UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Madrid set for Roma rematch

The 2002/03 UEFA Champions League first group stage draw has paired the holders with AS Roma.

The 2002/03 UEFA Champions League first group stage draw has been made in Monaco.

Roma test for holders
Holders Real Madrid CF of Spain are in Group C alongside Italian Serie A side AS Roma, who they faced last season. Greek runners-up AEK Athens FC and KRC Genk complete the quartet.

Tough group
Group G looks like the toughest to come out of the hat, even though it is the only group to contain no national champions from last season, with FC Bayern München, the champions from 2000/01, set to battle for supremacy with Spanish side RC Deportivo La Coruña, Italians Milan AC and RC Lens of France.

United meet Leverkusen again
In Group F, Manchester United FC, one of the pre-tournament favourites, will meet several old adversaries after being drawn alongside Bayer 04 Leverkusen, who knocked them out of the competition in the semi-final stage last season, as well as Greek champions Olympiakos Piraeus FC, who they also faced last season. Maccabi Haifa, the first Israeli side to ever reach the group stage, complete the group.

Arsenal meet former champions
English Premiership champions Arsenal FC will fancy their chances of progressing from Group A, which also contains 1997 champions BV Borussia Dortmund, 1988 winners PSV Eindhoven and French side AJ Auxerre. FC Basel's reward for their comeback win against Celtic FC is to be contained in Group B with Valencia CF, Liverpool FC and FC Spartak Moskva.

Repeat of 1972 final
In Group D, Internazionale FC and AFC Ajax will meet in a repeat of the 1972 UEFA European Champion Clubs' Cup final, which the Dutch side won 2-0. Other sides in the group are French champions Olympique Lyonnais and Norwegian title holders Rosenborg BK.

Barcelona in Group H
Former European champions FC Barcelona are in Group H alongside Turkish outfit Galatasaray SK, Russian side FC Lokomotiv Moskva and Club Brugge KV. Meanwhile Italian champions Juventus FC will face UEFA Cup holders Feyenoord, Ukrainian runners-up FC Dynamo Kyiv and Newcastle United FC of England.

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
Arsenal FC   Valencia CFReal Madrid CFInternazionale FC
BV Borussia DortmundLiverpool FCAS RomaOlympique Lyonnais
PSV EindhovenFC Spartak MoskvaAEK Athens FCAFC Ajax
AJ AuxerreFC BaselKRC GenkRosenborg BK

Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
Juventus FCManchester United FCFC Bayern MünchenFC Barcelona
FeyenoordBayer 04 LeverkusenRC Deportivo La CoruñaGalatasaray SK
FC Dynamo KyivOlympiakos Piraeus FCMilan ACFC Lokomotiv Moskva
Newcastle United FCMaccabi HaifaRC LensClub Brugge KV