UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Ronaldo breaks group stage goals record

Real Madrid CF forward Cristiano Ronaldo has become the first player to score nine goals in a UEFA Champions League group stage in the competition's 22-year history.

Group stage top scorers in the UEFA Champions League era ©Getty Images

Cristiano Ronaldo's strike at FC København means the Real Madrid CF forward has broken the record for most goals in a single UEFA Champions League group stage, despite missing the penultimate game.

Ronaldo's 48th-minute effort in Madrid's Group B victory at Parken tonight was his ninth of this campaign, and the Portugal forward therefore eclipses a record previously held jointly by Ruud van Nistelrooy (2004/05), Filippo Inzaghi and Hernán Crespo (both 2002/03). Paris Saint-Germain's Zlatan Ibrahimović also equalled it this season but sat out matchday six.

Ronaldo, 28, has scored in each of his five UEFA Champions League appearances this term, continuing the momentum of his hat-trick against Galatasaray AŞ on matchday one. Not that he was struggling beforehand. The 12-goal leading marksman last season, he has found the net 28 times in his last 23 matches in the competition, registering 57 times in all.

Ronaldo is proof that good things come to those who wait: it took him 27 games to get off the mark in the competition proper.

UEFA Champions League leading scorers after the group stage
2013/14: Ronaldo (9), after the first half of matchday six
2012/13: Burak, Ronaldo (6)
2011/12: Gomez, Messi (6)
2010/11: Eto'o (7)
2009/10: Ronaldo (6)
2008/09: Benzema, Gerrard, Klose, Messi (5)
2007/08: Ibrahimović, Ronaldo (5)
2006/07: Drogba, Kaká, Morientes (5)
2005/06: Shevchenko (6)
2004/05: Van Nistelrooy (8)
2003/04: Drogba, Makaay, Pršo, Şükür (5)
2002/03: Crespo, Inzaghi (8) – first group stage only
2001/02: Elber, Trezeguet (6) – first group stage only
2000/01: Rivaldo, Simone (6) – first group stage only
1999/2000: Jardel, Rivaldo (5) – first group stage only
1998/99: Zahovič (7)
1997/98: Henry (6)
1996/97: Bokšić, Artur, Jardel, Pantić, Simeone, Simone (4)
1995/96: Litmanen (6)
1994/95: Weah (6)
1993/94: Rufer (4)
1992/93: Sauzée (5)