UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Real Madrid target third Club World Cup win

Holders Real Madrid will be looking to match Barcelona as record three-time winners when they begin their FIFA Club World Cup defence in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday.

Real Madrid celebrate their 2016 FIFA Club World Cup triumph
Real Madrid celebrate their 2016 FIFA Club World Cup triumph ©Getty Images

Real Madrid begin their FIFA Club World Cup defence in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday as they set out to join Barcelona as the competition's record three-time winners.

The holders added to their 2014 triumph last year and will be looking to equal their arch-rivals as they kick off with a semi-final against United Arab Emirates champions Al-Jazira. The winners of that tie will face Brazilian side Grêmio in Saturday's final.

Coach Zinédine Zidane has called on a squad of 24 players for the tournament, with Cristiano Ronaldo making the trip shortly after winning a joint record fifth Ballon d'Or. The Portugal forward scored a hat-trick in last year's final as Madrid defeated Kashima Antlers 4-2 after extra time in Yokohama.

Does Ronaldo make your Team of the Year?

Real Madrid's squad in Abu Dhabi
Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas, Kiko Casilla, Moha Ramos.
Defenders: Dani Carvajal, Jesús Vallejo, Sergio Ramos, Raphaël Varane, Nacho, Marcelo, Theo Hernández, Achraf Hakimi.
Midfielders: Toni Kroos, Luka Modrić, Casemiro, Marcos Llorente, Marco Asensio, Isco, Mateo Kovačić, Dani Ceballos.
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo, Karim Benzema, Gareth Bale, Lucas Vázquez, Borja Mayoral.

FIFA Club World Cup roll of honour
Barcelona 3 (2009, 2011, 2015)
Real Madrid 2 (2014, 2016)
Corinthians 2 (2000, 2012)
AC Milan 1 (2007)
Bayern München 1 (2013)
Internacional 1 (2006)
Internazionale Milano 1 (2010)
Manchester United 1 (2008)
São Paulo 1 (2005)

Madrid won the 2016 final in Yokohama
Madrid won the 2016 final in Yokohama©Getty Images

World club titles in full: European/South American Cup + FIFA Club World Cup
Real Madrid 5 (1960, 1998, 2002 + 2014, 2016)
AC Milan 4 (1969, 1989, 1990 + 2007)
Barcelona 3 (2009, 2011, 2015)
Bayern München 3 (1976, 2001 + 2013)
Boca Juniors 3 (1977, 2000, 2003)
Internazionale Milano 3 (1964, 1965 + 2010)
Nacional 3 (1971, 1989, 1988)
Peñarol 3 (1961, 1966, 1982)
São Paulo 3 (1992, 1993 + 2005)