UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Dundalk shock BATE, APOEL leave it late

Dundalk shocked BATE, APOEL scored three times in added time and Ludogorets prevailed in extra time as five teams booked their places in the UEFA Champions League play-offs.

David McMillan scored twice as Dundalk beat BATE to reach the play-offs
David McMillan scored twice as Dundalk beat BATE to reach the play-offs ©Sportsfile

Champions route

Dundalk 3-0 BATE (agg: 3-1)
Dundalk avenged defeat by BATE in last year's second qualifying round with a sensational win at Tallaght Stadium. David McMillan struck either side of half-time to edge the Irish title holders in front, with substitute Robbie Benson adding the gloss in the last minute.

APOEL 3-0 Rosenborg (agg: 4-2)
APOEL were heading out until added time, but an extraordinary finish sent them into the play-offs in style. Giannis Gianniotas (90+1), Vander (90+5) and Tomás De Vincenti (90+9) scored the goals.

Crvena zvezda 2-4 Ludogorets (aet, agg: 4-6)
A Wanderson hat-trick, including two in extra time, propelled Ludogorets into the play-offs. Mitchell Donald put the hosts ahead on 17 minutes, before Jonathan Cafú and Wanderson gave Ludogorets the lead and both teams had players – Igor Plastun and Guélor Kanga – sent off. Though Luis Ibáñez's penalty forced an extra 30 minutes, the visitors' Brazilian forward had the final say.

Qarabağ 1-1 Viktoria Plzeň (agg: 1-1, Plzeň win on away goals)
Replacement Michael Krmenčik's 85th-minute header was enough to take the Czech side through. Muarem Muarem's first-half effort for Qarabağ had looked like being enough for the hosts to progress, until the centre-back's late intervention.

Dinamo Tbilisi 0-1 Dinamo Zagreb (agg: 0-3)
Marko Rog, who also scored away from home in the second qualifying round, struck with a free-kick after just eight minutes to wrap up a comfortable aggregate triumph for Zlatko Kranjčar's team.

The draw for the UEFA Champions League play-offs takes place at 12:00CET on Friday 5 August and will be streamed live on UEFA.com. Further details are available here.

BATE, Rosenborg, Crvena zvezda, Qarabağ and Dinamo Tbilisi will now transfer to the UEFA Europa League play-offs.