UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2013/14 Champions League financial distribution

The 32 teams that competed in the 2013/14 UEFA Champions League shared €904m from UEFA, including €57.4m for Real Madrid CF and at least €12.2m for all clubs.

Real Madrid received the highest payment
Real Madrid received the highest payment ©AFP/Getty Images

The 32 teams that competed in the UEFA Champions League shared €904m in payments from UEFA in 2013/14, matching the record outlay from the previous season.

Full distribution to clubs report.

Each club was entitled to a minimum payment for participation in the competition. Additionally, performance bonuses were paid for every win or draw in the group stage and each knockout round successfully negotiated, while monies from the market pool were divided according to the proportional value of the national television market allocated to each individual club, among other factors.

Unsurprisingly, eventual winners Real Madrid CF secured the highest payment from the UEFA Champions League, their €57.4m including the standard €8.6m participation bonus, more than €20.5m from the market pool and over €28m in performance monies including €10.5m for their final victory. The figures include payments to certain clubs that are being withheld due to non-compliance with financial fair play regulations.

By contrast the second-highest payment, prior to deduction, was to Paris Saint-Germain who exited in the quarter-finals but were due to receive €54.4m, including €33.9m from the market pool as only two French clubs played in the group stage and the other, Olympique de Marseille, departed without a point. Club Atlético de Madrid, with more competition for the Spanish market pool share, totalled just over €50m, which included the highest group stage performance bonus of €5.5m – €1m per win and €0.5m per draw.

Also collecting more than €40m were Manchester United FC, Juventus, FC Bayern München, Chelsea FC and FC Barcelona. That was boosted by the performance bonuses for reaching each knockout round: €3.5m for the last 16, an additional €3.9m for the quarter-finals, €4.9m more for the semis, and €6.5m extra for the final, increased by an extra €4m to the €10.5m Madrid gained for winning the decider in Lisbon.

Even those who did not perform so strongly did well with no club receiving under the €12.2m picked up by RSC Anderlecht. And those teams that did not advance past the three qualifying rounds were rewarded with fixed sums, with extra solidarity bonuses for national champions that missed the play-offs.