UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Ronaldo named Best FIFA Men's Player 2017

Cristiano Ronaldo has been named Best FIFA Men's Player 2017, maintaining his stranglehold on world football's biggest individual awards.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Zinédine Zidane with their trophies
Cristiano Ronaldo and Zinédine Zidane with their trophies ©AFP/Getty Images

Cristiano Ronaldo has maintained his stranglehold on football's biggest individual awards after adding retaining the Best FIFA Men's Player prize.

The Real Madrid forward, 32, topped the poll ahead of Lionel Messi and Neymar. It means the Portuguese still simultaneously holds the global prize, the Ballon d'Or and UEFA Best Player in Europe Award.

This is only the second edition of the Best FIFA Men's Player award, which succeeds the FIFA Ballon d'Or (now known just as the Ballon d'Or and no longer associated with FIFA). Ronaldo won the 2016 prize, with Messi second and Antoine Griezmann third.

Full winners at The Best FIFA Football Awards

Best Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Buffon
Best Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Buffon©Getty Images

Best FIFA Men's Player: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
Best FIFA Women's Player: Lieke Martens (Rosengård, Barcelona)
Best FIFA Men's Coach: Zinédine Zidane (Real Madrid)
Best FIFA Women's Coach: Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)
Best FIFA Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
FIFA Fair Play Award: Francis Koné
FIFA Puskás Award (best goal): Olivier Giroud (Arsenal)
FIFA Fan Award: Celtic
FIFA FIFPro World 11: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus); Dani Alves (Juventus/Paris Saint-Germain), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus/AC Milan); Luka Modrić (Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona); Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Neymar (Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid).

The final three contenders were narrowed down from an initial shortlist of 24, selected by a panel of FIFA Legends. The voting process was split evenly between four evenly-weighted categories: national coaches, national captains, select members of the media and fans.