UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

1965/66: Madrid make it six

FK Partizan became the first side from the east of the continent to make it to a European Champion Clubs' Cup final, but a Real Madrid CF side packed with Spanish talent were to hold sway in the final in Brussels.

Amancio Amaro scores in the 1965/66 European Cup final
Amancio Amaro scores in the 1965/66 European Cup final ©Getty Images

Real Madrid CF 2-1 FK Partizan
(Amaro 70, Serena 76; Vasović 55)
Heysel, Brussels

Old habits die hard, so it was no great surprise when Real Madrid CF returned to winning ways in 1965/66 with their sixth European Champion Clubs' Cup success. What was striking about this Madrid team, however, was a line-up showing eleven Spanish players for the final against FK Partizan - and captained by the veteran Paco Gento.

Another old-timer had enjoyed a less publicised, if more emphatic, swansong in the opening round against Feyenoord. Ferenc Puskás scored four goals, his last in Europe, as Madrid recovered from a 1-0 loss in Rotterdam to go through 5-1 on aggregate. Kilmarnock FC and RSC Anderlecht were then given equally short shrift en route to the semi-finals, where the Merengues faced holders Internazionale FC. José Martínez Pirri secured a 1-0 win at Chamartín before a 1-1 draw in the return at San Siro ended Inter hopes of a hat-trick of victories in the competition.

The other notable result that season came in Lisbon. A George Best-inspired Manchester United FC shattered SL Benfica's 100 per cent home record with a 5-1 triumph to add to the 3-2 scoreline at Old Trafford in the quarter-finals. But if United were expecting a procession to the Brussels final, they were to be disappointed. More apples fell from carts as Partizan beat the English side 2-1 on aggregate to become the first finalists from Eastern Europe. Another upset was on the cards in the final when Velibor Vasović put the Yugoslav side in front at the Heysel Stadium, but this time Madrid had the answers, replying through Amancio Amaro and Fernando Serena in the last 20 minutes to take the trophy.