Newcomers stand in Inter's path

FC Internazionale Milano will start the defence of their title in Group A with games against SV Werder Bremen and two debutants at this stage, Tottenham Hotspur FC and FC Twente.

UEFA Champions League holders FC Internazionale Milano will begin the defence of their title in Group A with matches against SV Werder Bremen and two newcomers to this stage, Tottenham Hotspur FC and FC Twente.

The 32 clubs were split into eight sections of four with last season's runners-up FC Bayern München drawn in Group E alongside AS Roma, FC Basel 1893 and CFR 1907 Cluj. José Mourinho will make a swift return to Italy as his Real Madrid CF team meet AC Milan, as well as AFC Ajax and AJ Auxerre. FC Barcelona, winners in two of the past five seasons, will take on Panathinaikos FC, FC København and FC Rubin Kazan.

The group stage fixtures will be played on 14/15 September, 28/29 September, 19/20 October, 2/3 November, 23/24 November and 7/8 December. The section winners and runners-up will progress to the round of 16 in the spring, with the final to be staged at Wembley Stadium on Saturday 28 May 2011. Teams finishing third in each section will transfer to the UEFA Europa League round of 32.

2010/11 UEFA Champions League group stage
Group A Group B
FC Internazionale Milano (ITA) Olympique Lyonnais (FRA)
SV Werder Bremen (GER) SL Benfica (POR)
Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG) FC Schalke 04 (GER)
FC Twente (NED) Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)
Group C Group D
Manchester United FC (ENG) FC Barcelona (ESP)
Valencia CF (ESP) Panathinaikos FC (GRE)
Rangers FC (SCO) FC København (DEN)
Bursaspor (TUR) FC Rubin Kazan (RUS)
Group E Group F
FC Bayern München (GER) Chelsea FC (ENG)
AS Roma (ITA) Olympique de Marseille (FRA)
FC Basel 1893 (SUI) FC Spartak Moskva (RUS)
CFR 1907 Cluj (ROU) MŠK Žilina (SVK)
Group G Group H
AC Milan (ITA) Arsenal FC (ENG)
Real Madrid CF (ESP) FC Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)
AFC Ajax (NED) SC Braga (POR)
AJ Auxerre (FRA) FK Partizan (SRB)