Месси топит "Ливерпуль"

Лионель Месси забил 600-й гол за "Барселону", которая одной ногой уже в финале Лиги чемпионов.

Watch the goals from Camp Nou, including Lionel Messi's superb free-kick.

Обзор матча

Поединок пятикратных обладателей трофея обещал атакующий футбол, и команды не подвели. Однако успешнее свою работу в нападении проделали хозяева.

"Барса" повела после красивой атаки с пасом Жорди Альбы под рывок Луиса Суареса и ударом уругвайца в падении. У "Ливерпуля" возможности сравнять счет упустили Садьо Мане, Джеймс Милнер и Мохамед Салах.

В итоге Лионель Месси во втором тайме показал гостям, как надо относиться к своим моментам. В случае с первым голом лидеру каталонцев чуть повезло - мяч отскочил к нему после удара Суареса в перекладину, а вот третий мяч стал всецело творением Месси.

Луис Суарес забивает первый мяч
Луис Суарес забивает первый мяч©AFP/Getty Images

Десятый номер положил фирменный штрафной в "девятку" ворот англичан, забив свой 600-й гол в официальных матчах за "Барсу".

Мнение репортера: Грэм Хантер

Футбол бывает непредсказуем и невероятен. Я смотрю футбол на "Камп Ноу" как минимум 25 лет, но, признаюсь, такого матча я еще не видел.

Безусловно, "Ливерпуль" мог выиграть и, вполне возможно, должен был. Но "Барселона" не теряла веры и понимала, что если у Месси будут шансы, то все будет хорошо. И, каким-то образом, так и вышло. Удар Месси со штрафного - один из самых красивых из его 600 голов за "Барселону". Просто невероятно!

Лучший игрок матча: Лионель Месси

Месси празднует свой первый гол
Месси празднует свой первый гол©Getty Images

Казалось, "Ливерпуль" без гола "Камп Ноу" не покинет, и это лишь вопрос времени. Тут Месси решил взять-таки инициативу в свои руки по-настоящему. После немного случайного гола на 75-й минуте главный футбольный герой Каталонии добил соперника штрафным ударом в "девятку". Аргентинский маэстро приблизил "Барсу" к очередному финалу Лиги чемпионов, через 14 лет после своего первого гола за клуб.

Ключевая статистика

3: "Барселона" забивала три и более мячей в семи из последних девяти домашних матчей в плей-офф Лиги чемпионов.

12: Последние 12 голов в Лиге чемпионов Суарес забил на "Камп Ноу".

26: На счету Месси теперь 26 голов в 33 матчах с английскими клубами. Команды из Англии настрадались от него в еврокубках больше, чем кто-либо.

32: "Барса" продлила беспроигрышную домашнюю серию в Лиге чемпионов до 32 встреч.

500: Гол Луиса Суареса стал 500-м для каталонцев в основной стадии Лиги чемпионов.

Месси забивает 600-й мяч за ''Барселону''
Месси забивает 600-й мяч за ''Барселону''©AFP/Getty Images

600: Оформив дубль, Месси забил свой 600-й мяч в официальных матчах за "Барселону".

Что это значит?

"Барселона" с пятой попытки все-таки смогла обыграть "Ливерпуль", в матчах с которым прежде добилась лишь двух ничьих при двух поражениях. В Англии каталонцы не проигрывали с разницей в три мяча с тех пор, как уступили "Манчестер Юнайтед" (0:3) в четвертьфинале Кубка кубков-1983/84. Седьмого мая "Ливерпулю" потребуется сотворить чудо.

Что дальше?

Первый матч домашнего первенства в статусе 26-кратного чемпиона Испании "Барселона" проведет в субботу в гостях у "Сельты". Следом каталонцы сыграют на "Энфилде", после чего завершат чемпионат встречами с "Хетафе" и "Эйбаром". За этим последует финал Кубка Испании 25 мая с "Валенсией", но удовлетворится ли "Барса" лишь одним майским финалом?

В чемпионате Англии, где "Ливерпуль" продолжает гонку за золотом, красным остается сыграть в субботу на выезде с "Ньюкаслом" и дома 12 мая с "Вулверхэмптоном".

Наверх

Barcelona 3-0 Liverpool: Champions League at a glance

Lionel Messi scored twice, including his 600th goal for Barcelona, to leave Liverpool facing an uphill task in the return.

Watch the goals from Camp Nou, including Lionel Messi's superb free-kick.

All you need to know in 60 seconds ...

There was plenty of attacking intent from these two five-time European champions but it was the home side who took the lead when Jordi Alba's fine cross was expertly guided past Alisson by Luis Suárez.

Sadio Mané skied a presentable chance to level before the break while James Milner, twice, and Mohamed Salah forced Marc-André ter Stegen into saves after it. Lionel Messi, not for the first time, proved to be a class apart.

Luis Suárez struck first for the hosts
Luis Suárez struck first for the hosts©AFP/Getty Images

Barça's talisman poached their second after Suárez had rattled the bar before giving his team a healthy cushion to take to Anfield with a sensational free-kick to bring up his 600 for the Catalan club.

View from the stadium: Graham Hunter

As astonishing as football can be, and despite the fact I've been watching football here at Camp Nou for at least a quarter of a century, I've rarely seen a match as remarkable as this.

It's inescapable that Liverpool could have won, possibly should have. But Barcelona stayed doggedly faithful to their belief that if they fed Messi things would happen and, somehow, they did. That 3-0 free-kick ranks with the best of his 600 club goals. Utterly remarkable.

Man of the match: Lionel Messi

Messi takes the acclaim following his first goal
Messi takes the acclaim following his first goal©Getty Images

It seemed only a matter of time before Liverpool fashioned what would have been a deserved equaliser at Camp Nou – until Messi decided to take matters into his own hands. If his first of the game showed sheer determined goalscoring instinct, the free-kick seven minutes later almost defied belief. The Argentinian maestro has put Barça on the brink of another UEFA Champions League final – 14 years to the day since he bagged his first goal for the club.

Key stats

3: Barcelona have scored three or more goals in eight of their last ten UEFA Champions League knockout-stage home matches.

12: Suárez's last 12 UEFA Champions League goals have come at Camp Nou.

Messi scores his 600th Barcelona goal
Messi scores his 600th Barcelona goal©AFP/Getty Images

600: Messi's second of the night was his 600th for Barcelona.

26: Messi has now scored 26 goals in 33 games against English opponents – more than against teams from any other country.

32: Barcelona extend their competition record to 32 home matches unbeaten.

500: Suárez's strike was Barcelona's 500th in the UEFA Champions League era, group stage to final.

What does it mean?

Barcelona break their hoodoo against Liverpool, winning for the first time against them at the fifth time of asking. They have not lost by three goals in England since a 3-0 defeat at Manchester United in the 1983/84 European Cup Winners' Cup quarter-finals, so Liverpool will be battling the weight of history when the sides reconvene on 7 May.

Milner: defeat is tough to take
Milner: defeat is tough to take

What's next?

Barcelona's first Liga assignment since retaining their Spanish title is at Celta Vigo on Saturday. They have further league fixtures against Getafe (a) and Eibar (h) after the second leg, with the Copa del Rey final against Valencia following on 25 May. Will there be another final looming by then?

Premier League title-hunting Liverpool travel to Newcastle on Saturday evening, with Wolves the visitors to Anfield for the Reds' final domestic date of the season on 12 May.

Top