UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

First step on UEFA Cup journey

The 2005/06 UEFA Cup first qualifying round draw takes place in Nyon, with 50 teams dreaming of glory next May.

Fifty in opening round
The 50 clubs have been divided into three geographical seeding groups - Northern, Southern-Mediterranean and Central-East. Teams from the same country cannot be drawn together. The 25 winners of these matches, to be played over two legs on 14 and 28 July, will progress to the second qualifying round where they will be joined by a further 37 sides including former European Champion Clubs' Cup winners FK Crvena Zvezda. This draw will be made in Nyon on 29 July.

Big names
The 31 survivors of the second qualifying round will advance to the first round proper, where 49 other clubs will lie in wait, including holders PFC CSKA Moskva and the 16 teams eliminated in the third qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League. The first-round winners will participate in the UEFA Cup group stage. The final of the 2005/06 UEFA Cup will be held in Eindhoven.

First qualifying round: Northern group

Viking FK (NOR)Cork City FC (IRL)
Esbjerg fB (DEN)FC TVMK Tallinn (EST)
FK Ventspils (LAT)FC Flora (EST)
FHK Liepajas Metalurgs (LAT)Portadown FC (NIR)
Myllykosken Pallo-47 (FIN)Linfield FC (NIR)
AC Allianssi (FIN)Rhyl FC (WAL)
FK Ekranas (LIT)Carmarthen Town AFC (WAL)
FK Atlantas (LIT)CS Pétange (LUX)
Keflavík (ISL)FC Etzella Ettelbrück (LUX)
ÍBV Vestmannaeyjar (ISL)B36 Tórshavn (FAR)
Longford Town FC (IRL)NSÍ Runavík (FAR)

First qualifying round: Southern-Mediterranean group

AFC Rapid Bucuresti (ROU)Birkirkara FC (MLT)
NK Domzale (SLO)Hibernians FC (MLT)
AC Omonia (CYP)KS Teuta (ALB)
FK Vardar (MKD)KS Elbasani (ALB)
NK Široki Brijeg (BIH)UE Sant Julià (AND)
NK Zepce (BIH)SP Domagnano (SMR)

First qualifying round: Central-East group

Ferencvárosi TC (HUN)FC MTZ-RIPO Minsk (BLS)
1. FSV Mainz O5 (GER)FC BATE Borisov (BLS)
MSK Zilina (SVK)FC Vaduz (LIE)
FC Nistru Otaci (MDA)FC MIKA (ARM)
FC Dacia Chisinau (MDA)FC Banants (ARM)
FC Lokomotiv Tbilisi (GEO)FK Baku (AZE)
FC Torpedo Kutaisi (GEO)FK Khazar Lenkoran (AZE)