UEFA Europa League play-off draw seedings

Seven former European champions are among the 62 teams preparing to learn their fate when the draw for the UEFA Europa League play-offs takes place in Nyon, Switzerland, from 13.30CET.

UEFA Europa League play-off draw seedings
UEFA Europa League play-off draw seedings ©UEFA.com

Former European champions FC Internazionale Milano, Liverpool FC, Olympique de Marseille, Feyenoord, FC Steaua Bucureşti, FK Crvena zvezda and PSV Eindhoven are among 62 clubs that will learn their fate from 13.30CET when the draw is made for the UEFA Europa League play-off round at UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland.

The teams have been divided into six groups for the draw – five of ten teams and one of 12. Within all groups an equal number of sides are seeded and unseeded in accordance with the club rankings established at the beginning of the season.

A ball will be taken from each of the bowls containing seeded and unseeded teams and placed in a large empty bowl in the middle where they will be shuffled. The first club drawn will play their first match at home and sides from the same association cannot be drawn against each other.

The fixtures will be contested over two legs on 23 and 30 August with the winners qualifying for the group stage proper, which gets under way on 20 September. Next year's final takes place in Amsterdam on 15 May.

UEFA Europa League play-off draw
Group 1
 AZ Alkmaar (NED) FC Vaslui (ROU)
 FC Internazionale Milano (ITA) Atromitos FC (GRE)
 APOEL FC (CYP) FC Anzhi Makhachkala (RUS)
 FK Partizan (SRB) Tromsø IL (NOR)
 Newcastle United FC (ENG)

 Neftçi PFK (AZE)

* Second leg abandoned on Thursday