UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Europa League draw reaction: As it happened

The UEFA Europa League play-off draw has been made and the UEFA.com DrawCentre had all the reaction and analysis from our reporting team across Europe.

The big screen ahead of the UEFA Europa League play-off draw in Nyon
The big screen ahead of the UEFA Europa League play-off draw in Nyon ©Getty Images for UEFA

The 44-team lineup for the UEFA Europa League play-off draw has been confirmed with the ceremony streamed live in the UEFA.com DrawCentre from 13.00CET on Friday.

• The 29 third qualifying round winners have been joined by the 15 losers from the same stage of the UEFA Champions League.

Seedings (seeds in bold)

Group 1
1 Athletic Club (ESP)
2 Viktoria Plzeň (CZE)
3 Steaua Bucureşti (ROU)
4 Legia Warszawa (POL)
5 Belenenses (POR)
6 Rosenborg (NOR)
7 Zorya Luhansk (UKR)
8 Žilina (SVK)
9 Vojvodina (SRB)
10 Altach (AUT)

Group 2
1 Ajax (NED)
3 Young Boys (SUI)
4 Standard Liège (BEL)
5 Saint-Étienne (FRA)
6 Qarabağ (AZE)
7 Molde (NOR)
8 Jablonec (CZE)
9 Brøndby (DEN)
10 Milsami Orhei (MDA)

Group 3
1 Rubin Kazan (RUS)
2 FC Salzburg (AUT)
3 Fenerbahçe (TUR)
4 Girondins de Bordeaux (FRA)
5 Lech Poznań (POL)
6 Slovan Liberec (CZE)
7 Hajduk Split (CRO)
8 Atromitos (GRE)
9 Dinamo Minsk (BLR)
10 Videoton (HUN)
11 Rabotnicki (MKD)
12 Kairat Almaty (KAZ)

Group 4
1 Borussia Dortmund (GER)
2 AZ Alkmaar (NED)
3 Sparta Praha (CZE)
4 Panathinaikos (GRE)
5 Southampton (ENG)
6 FC Krasnodar (RUS)
7 HJK Helsinki (FIN)
8 FC Thun (SUI)
9 Astra Giurgiu (ROU)
10 Midtjylland (DEN)
11 Odds BK (NOR)
12 Qäbälä (AZE)

Draw procedure
• All the clubs are seeded according to their coefficient and split into four groups.

• All the clubs within the groups are ordered randomly and identified by a number.

• The draw will be made in two batches: Groups 1 & 2 and Group 3 & 4.

• For each batch, two bowls will be prepared, one containing the balls with slips of paper numbered for the seeded teams and the other containing the balls with slips of paper numbered for the unseeded teams.

• A ball will be taken from each bowl and placed into an empty bowl in the middle, where they will be shuffled. One of the two balls is drawn at random, then opened to display the number it contains, denoting the side playing at home in the first leg. The second ball is drawn to complete the pairing. The result of this draw applies for both groups in the batch.

• The same procedure is carried out with the remaining balls to complete all the pairings.

• Ties are played on 20 and 27 August with the 22 winners going into the group stage draw in Monaco on 28 August along with 16 automatic entrants and the ten teams defeated in the UEFA Champions League play-off draw.

Dnipro start in the group stage
Dnipro start in the group stage©Sportsfile

Bye to group stage: Schalke 04 (GER), Napoli (ITA), Tottenham Hotspur  (ENG), Villarreal (ESP), Olympique de Marseille (FRA), Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (UKR), Braga (POR), Fiorentina (ITA) , Anderlecht (BEL), Liverpool (ENG), Beşiktaş (TUR), Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS), Augsburg (GER), Asteras Tripolis (GRE), FC Groningen (NED), Sion (SUI)

Road to Basel
Group stage ...
Matchday one: 17 September
Matchday two: 1 October
Matchday three: 22 October
Matchday four: 5 November
Matchday five: 26 November
Matchday six: 10 December

Transfer to round of 32 from UEFA Champions League: 8 third-place group finishers

St. Jakob-Park hosts the final
St. Jakob-Park hosts the final©Getty Images

Round of 32 draw: 14 December, Nyon
Round of 32, first leg: 18 February
Round of 32, second leg: 25 February
Round of 16 draw: 26 February (tbc), Nyon
Round of 16, first leg: 10 March
Round of 16, second leg: 17 March
Quarter-final draw: 18 March, Nyon
Quarter-final, first leg: 7 April
Quarter-final, second leg: 14 April
Semi-final draw: 15 April
Semi-final, first leg: 28 Apeil
Semi-final, second leg: 5 May
Final: 20.45CET, 18 May, St. Jakob-Park