UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Reyes's fifth win: top UEFA club cup winners

José Antonio Reyes now has a record five UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League winners' medals following Sevilla's triumph in Basel: we look at his fellow UEFA club competition masters.

Sevilla's José Antonio Reyes with the UEFA Europa League trophy yet again
Sevilla's José Antonio Reyes with the UEFA Europa League trophy yet again ©AFP/Getty Images

José Antonio Reyes was already the only player to have earned four UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League winners' medals and has now extended his record to five following Sevilla's defeat of Liverpool in Basel, when he lifted the trophy despite not being part of the matchday squad.

Reyes, who played in Atlético Madrid's 2010 win and was also in the 2012 squad, moved one ahead of Ray Clemence, Guiseppe Bergomi and Nicola Berti (all from the UEFA Cup era) when Sevilla matched their 2014 victory by beating Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk 12 months ago in Warsaw.

A UEFA Champions League finalist with Arsenal and a UEFA Super Cup winner at Atleti, Reyes has now joined a select group of players to have won a single UEFA club competition five times or more: Real Madrid's Paco Gento (six times), Héctor Rial, Juan Alonso, Juan Santisteban, Marquitos, Rafael Lesmes, José María Zárraga and Alfredo Di Stéfano plus AC Milan duo Paolo Maldini and Alessandro Costacurta, all in the European Cup.

  • Player is counted as winning a competition if he featured during the season even if not in the final
Watch: Gento makes it six in 1966

European Cup/UEFA Champions League (UCL) 
Most wins: 6 – Paco Gento (Real Madrid) 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1966
Leading active players: 4 – Andrés Iniesta, Lionel Messi, Gerard Piqué, (all Barcelona) 2006, 2009, 2011, 2015 [only Iniesta played in all four finals]

European Cup Winners' Cup (CWC)
Most wins: 3 – Francisco José Carrasco (Barcelona) 1979, 1982, 1989

Reyes's fourth triumph

UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League (UEL)
Most wins: 5 – José Antonio Reyes (Atlético Madrid/Sevilla) 2010, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016

UEFA Super Cup
Most wins: 4 – Daniel Alves (Sevilla/Barcelona) 2006, 2009, 2011, 2015; Paolo Maldini (AC Milan) 1989, 1990, 1994, 2003

Paolo Maldini: My UEFA Champions League journey

Overall (UCL/CWC/UEL)
Paco Gento (Real Madrid) 6 – 6 UCL
Ray Clemence (Liverpool/Tottenham Hotspur) 6 – 3 UCL, 3 UEL
Arie Hahn (Ajax/Anderlecht) 5 – 3 UCL, 2 CWC
Ray Kennedy (Arsenal/Liverpool) 5 – 3 UCL, 2 UEL
Clarence Seedorf (Ajax/AC Milan/Real Madrid) 5 – 5 UCL
José Antonio Reyes (Atlético Madrid/Sevilla) – 5 UEL

1995: Blind completes full set with Ajax

Won all competitions: UCL/CWC/UEL
Danny Blind (Ajax) UCL 1995, CWC 1987, UEL 1992
Sergio Brio (Juventus) UCL 1985, CWC 1984, UEL 1990
Antonio Cabrini (Juventus) UCL 1985, CWC 1984, UEL 1977
Arnold Mühren (Ajax/Ipswich Town) UCL 1973, CWC 1987, UEL 1981
Gaetano Scirea (Juventus) UCL 1985, CWC 1984, UEL 1977
Stefano Tacconi (Juventus) UCL 1985, CWC 1984, UEL 1990
Mardo Tardelli (Juventus) UCL 1985, CWC 1984, UEL 1977
Gianluca Vialli (Sampdoria/Juventus/Chelsea) UCL 1996, CWC 1990/1998, UEL 1993

  • UEL does not include Inter-Cities Fairs Cup, not organised by UEFA

Selected for you