UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Europa League play-off draw

AC Milan and Fenerbahçe take on FYR Macedonian opposition, Athletic Club face a tough trip to Greece while Ajax meet Rosenborg – just a few of the 22 play-off ties.

The draw results displayed in the auditorium
The draw results displayed in the auditorium ©Sportsfile

AC Milan and Fenerbahçe face trips to FYR Macedonia after the draw was made for the UEFA Europa League play-offs.

Athletic Club have been pitted against Panathinaikos, Ajax will take on Rosenborg while AEK Athens stand between Club Brugge and a return to the competition after a rare season away for the Belgian side last term. Marseille, one of four former European champions in the draw, will travel to Slovenia to play Domžale.

UEFA Europa League play-off draw

Shkëndija (MKD) v AC Milan (ITA)
Osijek (CRO) v Austria Wien (AUT)
Crvena zvezda (SRB) v Krasnodar (RUS)
Club Brugge (BEL) v AEK Athens (GRE)
Marítimo (POR) v Dynamo Kyiv (UKR)

Panathinaikos (GRE) v Athletic Club (ESP)
Apollon Limassol (CYP) v Midtjylland (DEN)
FH Hafnarfjördur (ISL) v Braga (POR)
Everton (ENG) v Hajduk Split (CRO)
Vitorul (ROU) v Salzburg (AUT)

Vardar (MKD) v Fenerbahçe (TUR)
Ajax (NED) v Rosenborg (NOR)
Altach (AUT) v Maccabi Tel-Aviv (ISR)
BATE Borisov (BLR) v Oleksandriya (UKR)
Dinamo Zagreb (CRO) v Skënderbeu (ALB)
Ludogorets Razgrad (BUL) v Sūduva (LTU)

Domžale (SVN) v Marseille (FRA)
Partizan (SRB) v Videoton (HUN)

Utrecht (NED) v Zenit (RUS)
Legia Warszawa (POL) v Sheriff Tiraspol (MDA)
Viktoria Plzeň (CZE) v AEK Larnaca (CYP)
PAOK (GRE) v Östersund (SWE)

Ties will be played on 17 and 24 August. The 22 winners advance to the group stage, where they will join 16 automatic entrants and ten teams transferring from the UEFA Champions League play-offs. The group stage draw is on Friday 25 August.

Who's already in the group stage?

Arsenal (ENG), Atalanta (ITA), Hertha Berlin (GER), Köln (GER), Lazio (ITA), Konyaspor (TUR), Lokomotiv Moscow (RUS), Lugano (SUI), Lyon (FRA), Real Sociedad (ESP), Villarreal (ESP), Vitesse (NED), Vitória SC (POR), Zlín (CZE), Zulte Waregem (BEL), Zorya Luhansk (UKR)

What's the road to the final?

Group stage
Matchday one: 14 September
Matchday two: 28 Septemer
Matchday three: 19 October
Matchday four: 2 November
Matchday five: 23 November
Matchday six: 7 December

Top two in all 12 groups are joined by eight teams transferring from the UEFA Champions League in the knockout phase.

Knockout phase
Round of 32 draw: 11 December, Nyon
Round of 32, first leg: 15 February
Round of 32, second leg: 22 February
Round of 16 draw: 23 February, Nyon
Round of 16, first leg: 8 March
Round of 16, second leg: 15 March
Quarter-final draw: 16 March, Nyon
Quarter-finals, first leg: 5 April
Quarter-finals, second leg: 12 April
Semi-final draw: 13 April, Nyon
Semi-final, first leg: 26 April
Semi-final, second leg: 3 May
Final: 16 May (Stade de Lyon, Lyon)