UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Stats: Mourinho takes place among coaching greats

José Mourinho has matched Sir Alex Ferguson, Manchester United have joined an exclusive list while England are closing on Italy in the all-time rankings.

Mourinho joins exclusive club: European trophies with three clubs

All stats are UEFA Cup and UEFA Europa League unless otherwise specified.

Mourinho makes history

  • This is José Mourinho's fourth major UEFA club knockout competition win, earning him a share of second spot in the all-time coaching standings.

Giovanni Trapattoni1 3 1 5
José Mourinho2 2 4
Sir Alex Ferguson2 -24
Bob Paisley3 1 -4
Nereo Rocco2 -2 4

  • Mourinho is the first coach to win both the European Cup/UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League on multiple occasions.
  • Mourinho is just the third coach to win more than one major UEFA club competition twice apiece after Nereo Rocco and Sir Alex Ferguson.
  • Mourinho is the third coach to win the UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League with two clubs: Giovanni Trapattoni (Internazionale 1977, Juventus 1991, 1993) and Rafael Benítez (Valencia 2004, Chelsea 2013).
  • At 54 years and 118 days old, Mourinho is the oldest coach to lift the trophy under the UEFA Europa League format. Benítez won it aged 53 years and 21 days with Chelsea in 2013.

United join elite

  • United become the fifth team to win all three of UEFA's major club competitions after Ajax, Bayern München, Chelsea and Juventus.

Man. United3115

Country rankings

  • This is England's eighth UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League triumph. Only Spain (10) and Italy (9) have won more.
  • United are England's fifth UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League winner after Liverpool (3), Tottenham (2), Ipswich (1) and Chelsea (1). That equals the record held by Germany.
  • United are the fifth different club to win the UEFA Europa League and the second from England, after Chelsea in 2013. Spain is the only other nation with multiple winners: Sevilla (three times) and Atlético Madrid (two).

TitlesNationClubsNo. of clubs
10SpainSevilla (2006, 2007, 2014, 2015, 2016)
Real Madrid (1985, 1986)
Atlético (2010, 2012)
Valencia (2004)
9ItalyJuventus (1977, 1990, 1993)
Internazionale (1991, 1994, 1998)
Parma (1995, 1999)
Napoli (1989)
8EnglandLiverpool (1973, 1976, 2001)
Tottenham (1972, 1974)
Ipswich Town (1981)
Chelsea (2013)
Manchester United (2017)
6GermanyMönchengladbach (1975, 1979)
Bayern (1996)
Eintracht Frankfurt (1980)
Leverkusen (1988)
Schalke (1997)
4NetherlandsAjax (1992)
Feyenoord (1974, 2002)
PSV Eindhoven (1978)

United achievements

  • Juan Mata played in United's victory and Chelsea's 2013 success, and is the third player to appear in UEFA Europa League final wins with two different clubs. José Antonio Reyes was in the Atlético side that triumphed in 2010 – he left midway through their successful 2011/12 campaign – and Sevilla's victorious teams in 2014 and 2015, missing the 2016 final; Radamel Falcao featured for Porto (2010) and Atlético (2012). Marko Marin played for Sevilla in 2014 having been an unused sub for Chelsea 12 months earlier; David de Gea played in Atlético's 2010 final win and was an unused sub for United against Ajax.
  • United are the fifth UEFA Europa League winner to have participated from the start of the group stage. They kept eight clean sheets in their 15 matches, a record for a UEFA Europa League champion – their eight goals conceded equals Sevilla's record (set in nine games) in 2015/16. United also scored in 14 of their 15 fixtures, replicating the feats of Porto (2010/11) and Atlético (2011/12).
  • Marcus Rashford became the youngest winning UEFA Europa League finalist, aged 19 years and 205 days, eclipsing the record of Atlético's Eduardo Salvio, who was 19 years and 303 days when winning the 2010 final against Fulham.

Finals in figures

  • The eighth UEFA Europa League final produced a seventh different scoreline, a 2-0 victory having never previously been recorded. Atlético Madrid's 3-0 success over Athletic Club in 2012 remains the largest winning margin in a UEFA Europa League final.
  • There have now been 21 goals scored in the eight UEFA Europa League finals – at an average of 2.625 a game.
  • A total of 565 goals were scored in the 2016/17 UEFA Europa League, group stage to final, at an average of 2.76 per match. Taking into account all eight seasons of the competition, this season's strike rate was second only to that recorded in 2011/12 (585 goals at an average of 2.86 a game).