UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Europa League group stage draw: all you need to know

What time is Friday's draw? Who is involved? How can I follow it? Get the lowdown.

Europa League group stage draw: all you need to know
Europa League group stage draw: all you need to know ©Getty Images

When and where is the draw?

The 2019/20 UEFA Europa League group stage draw ceremony begins at 13:00 CET on Friday. It takes place at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco and will be streamed live on UEFA.com.

Who is involved in the draw?

ESP: Espanyol, Getafe, Sevilla
: Arsenal, Manchester United, Wolves
: Lazio, Roma
: Borussia Mönchengladbach, Eintracht Frankfurt, Wolfsburg
: Rennes, St-Étienne
: CSKA Moskva, Krasnodar
Porto, Sporting CP, Braga, Vitória SC
UKR: Dynamo Kyiv, Olexandriya
BEL: Gent, Standard Liège
TUR: Beşiktaş, İstanbul Başakşehir, Trabzonspor
NED: AZ Alkmaar, Feyenoord, PSV Eindhoven
AUT: Wolfsberg, LASK
DEN: Copenhagen
SUI: Basel, Lugano, Young Boys
SRB: Partizan
SCO: Celtic, Rangers
SWE: Malmö
NOR: Rosenborg
KAZ: Astana
AZE: Qarabağ
BUL: Ludogorets
SVK: Slovan Bratislava
HUN: Ferencváros
LUX: Dudelange

What are the draw pots?

Top ten goals of the 2018/19 Europa League

The four pots have been set according to coefficient:

Pot 1
104.000 Sevilla (ESP)
101.000 Arsenal (ENG)
93.000 Porto (POR)
81.000 Roma (ITA)
78.000 Manchester United (ENG)
65.000 Dynamo Kyiv (UKR)
62.000 Beşiktaş (TUR)
54.500 Basel (SUI)
50.000 Sporting CP (POR)
48.000 CSKA Moskva (RUS)
40.000 Wolfsburg (GER)
37.000 Lazio (ITA)

Pot 2
37.000 PSV Eindhoven (NED)
34.500 Krasnodar (RUS)
31.000 Celtic (SCO)
31.000 København (DEN)
31.000 Braga (POR)
29.500 Gent (BEL)
29.000 Borussia Mönchengladbach (GER)
27.500 Young Boys (SUI)
27.500 Astana (KAZ)
27.000 Ludogorets (BUL)
25.500 APOEL (CYP)
24.000 Eintracht Frankfurt (GER)

Pot 3
23.000 St-Étienne (FRA)
22.000 Qarabağ (AZE)
22.000 Feyenoord (NED)
20.713 Getafe (ESP)
20.713 Espanyol (ESP)
20.000 Malmö (SWE)
18.000 Partizan (SRB)
17.500 Standard Liège (BEL)
17.092 Wolves (ENG)
11.699 Rennes (FRA)
11.500 Rosenborg (NOR)
10.500 İstanbul Başakşehir (TUR)

Pot 4
10.500 AZ Alkmaar (NED)
9.646 Vitória SC (POR)
8.000 Trabzonspor (TUR)
7.780 Olexandriya (UKR)
6.250 Dudelange (LUX)
6.250 LASK (AUT)
6.250 Wolfsberg (AUT)
6.000 Slovan Bratislava (SVK)
6.000 Lugano (SUI)
5.250 Rangers (SCO)
3.500 CFR Cluj (ROU)
3.500 Ferencváros (HUN)

Clubs' coefficients are determined either by the sum of all points won in the previous five years or by the association coefficient over the same period – whichever is higher.

How does the draw work?

  • The 48 entrants are split into four seeding pots based on their club coefficients, with each of the eventual 12 groups to contain one team from each seeding tier.
  • No team can play a club from their own association, with the exact draw procedure confirmed before the ceremony

Why are some clubs paired?

In the case of associations with two or more representatives, clubs have been paired so that they play with different kick-off times (18.55 CET and 21:00 CET) for the benefit of TV audiences. The pairings are:

Sevilla & Espanyol
Arsenal & Manchester United
Porto & Sporting CP
Roma & Lazio
Dynamo Kyiv & Olexandriya
Beşiktaş & Trabzonspor
Basel & Young Boys
CSKA Moskva & Krasnodar
PSV & Feyenoord
Celtic & Rangers
Braga & Vitória SC
Gent & Standard
Mönchengladbach & Eintracht
St-Étienne & Rennes
LASK & Wolfsberg

If a paired club is drawn, for example, in groups A, B, C, D, E or F the other paired club – once drawn – will automatically be assigned to the first available group of G, H, I, J, K or L.

UEFA Europa League Player of the Season

Antoine Griezmann won the 2017/18 UEFA Europa League Player of the Season award
Antoine Griezmann won the 2017/18 UEFA Europa League Player of the Season award©Getty Images

The 2018/19 UEFA Europa League Player of the Season award will also be presented during the ceremony. Olivier Giroud, Eden Hazard and Luka Jović are the contenders.

Season calendar

Group stage

Matchday one: 19 September
Matchday two: 3 October
Matchday three: 24 October
Matchday four: 7 November
Matchday five: 28 November
Matchday six: 12 December

Knockout phase

16 December: Round of 32 draw, Nyon
20 February: Round of 32, first leg
27 February: Round of 32, second leg
28 February: Round of 16 draw, Nyon
12 March: Round of 16, first leg
19 March: Round of 16, second leg
20 March: Quarter-final and semi-final draws, Nyon
9 April: Quarter-finals, first leg
16 April: Quarter-finals, second leg
30 April: Semi-finals, first leg
7 May: Semi-finals, second leg
27 May: Final – Gdansk Stadium