UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Napoli finish top with Slovan Bratislava victory

SSC Napoli 3-0 ŠK Slovan Bratislava
Marek Hamšík was again on target against his formative club as Group I winners Napoli consigned Slovan to a sixth defeat.

Napoli celebrate Marek Hamšík's goal
Napoli celebrate Marek Hamšík's goal ©Getty Images

Napoli secure win that takes them through as Group I winners
Marek Hamšík scores against his formative club once again
Slovan Bratislava and Metalist Kharkiv bow out with six defeats out of six
Dries Mertens opens the scoring after just five minutes
Round of 32 draw takes place in Nyon at 13.00CET on 15 December

SSC Napoli secured top spot in Group I with a comfortable 3-0 victory against ŠK Slovan Bratislava at the Stadio San Paolo.

Napoli's win was never in doubt after goals in the opening 16 minutes from Dries Mertens and Marek Hamšík. Duván Zapata then wrapped things up 15 minutes from time as the Italian side ensured they will be seeded in Monday's draw, while Slovan bowed out without a point.

Mertens crowned a bright opening spell from the hosts with a sixth-minute goal, evading his marker before firing into the right corner from Hamšík's pass. After misses from Zapata and Christian Maggio, Mertens returned the favour for Hamšík to make it two with a neat flick to guide the ball in off the inside of the far post.

Dušan Perniš had a busy night between the Slovan posts as Hamšík fed José Callejón for another opportunity, but only the side netting was threatened by the Spaniard's angled effort. Half an hour in, Samuel Štefánik registered Slovan's first shot on target, yet business was resumed after the interval when Mertens lifted a shot onto the roof of the net.

The Belgian was again denied his fourth goal in this season's UEFA Europa League campaign by a finger-tip save from Perniš, before Zapata added his name to the scoresheet, a close-range header completing a comfortable victory for Rafael Benítez's men.