UEFA.com works better on other browsers
As of 25 January, UEFA.com will no longer support Internet Explorer.
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Spurs, Chelsea among Youth League play-off winners

Tottenham, Chelsea, Hertha Berlin, Dinamo Zagreb, Midtjylland, Dynamo Kyiv,, Montpellier and Lyon are through.

Tottenham celebrate opening the scoring against PAOK
Tottenham celebrate opening the scoring against PAOK ©Getty Images

Last season's UEFA Youth League runners-up Chelsea, Tottenham Hotspur, Dinamo Zagreb, Lyon, Midtjylland, Dynamo Kyiv and debutants Hertha Berlin and Montpellier won through to the round of 16 after this week's play-offs.

  • The eight teams from the Domestic Champions path are at home to the eight UEFA Champions League path group runners-up in one-off ties.
  • Winners through to round of 16: knockout draw streamed live at 14CET on Friday.

Play-off results

Highlights: Hertha 2-1 Paris
Highlights: Hertha 2-1 Paris

Hertha Berlin 2-1 Paris Saint-Germain
Dinamo Zagreb 1-1 Lokomotiv Moskva (Dinamo win 5-4 on pens)
Chelsea 3-1 Monaco
PAOK 0-1 Tottenham Hotspur

Midtjylland 1-1 Roma (Midtjylland win 4-2 on pens)
Dynamo Kyiv 3-0 Juventus
Sigma Olomouc 0-2 Lyon
Montpellier 2-1 Benfica

Highlights: Chelsea 3-1 Monaco
Highlights: Chelsea 3-1 Monaco
  • Chelsea were runners-up last season after winning on their previous entries in 2014/15 and 2015/16 (they did not qualify in 2016/17)
  • Chelsea's Charlie Brown scored twice against Monaco to increase his competition-leading season's tally to 11 in five games
  • Hertha and Montpellier are on debut
  • Dynamo Kyiv matched their best performance by reaching the last 16, where they lost 3-0 to Ajax in 2016/17
  • Midtjylland were involved in their third play-off shoot-out in as many appearances in this round: they lost on spot-kicks to Benfica in 2016/17 but beat Atlético on penalties the season before.
  • The competition record attendance was set in last term's play-offs: 32,510 for Krasnodar v Real Madrid

Through to round of 16

Group winners: Ajax (NED), Atlético Madrid (ESP), Barcelona (ESP, holders), Hoffenheim (GER), Liverpool (ENG), Manchester United (ENG), Porto (POR), Real Madrid (ESP)
Play-off winners:
Chelsea (ENG), Dinamo Zagreb (CRO), Dynamo Kyiv (UKR), Hertha Berlin (GER), Lyon (FRA), Midtjylland (DEN), Montpellier (FRA), Tottenham Hotspur (ENG)

Knockout phase calendar

Knockout draw (round of 16 onwards): 14:00CET, Friday, Nyon
Round of 16: 12/13 March
Quarter-finals: 2/3 April
Semi-final: 26 April, Colovray Stadium, Nyon
Final: 29 April, Colovray Stadium, Nyon