Kick out COVID-19 by following the World Health Organization and FIFA's five steps to help stop the disease’s spread.

1. Wash hands 2. Cough into bent elbow 3. Don't touch your face 4. Keep physical distance 5. Stay at home if unwell.
More info >

Under-19 qualifying round kicks off road to Finland

Debutants Kosovo will take part in the first match of 2017/18 qualifying as 52 teams – including holders England – begin their bids to reach next summer's finals in Finland.

Who will win the Under-19 trophy in 2017/18?
Who will win the Under-19 trophy in 2017/18? ©Sportsfile

Kosovo are making their UEFA European Under-19 Championship debut and kick off the 2017/18 competition with a game against Austria as the qualifying round gets under way on Tuesday.

How the competition works

  • Hosts Finland qualify automatically for next summer's final tournament
  • Spain and Portugal are also given a bye to the elite round, to be played in spring 2018
  • The remaining 52 entrants are split into 13 groups of four
  • The top two in each group qualify for the elite round
  • In the elite round, the seven group winners will join Finland in the July 2018 finals. 
England's victorious 2016/17 squad
England's victorious 2016/17 squad©Sportsfile

Qualifying round draw
Group 1 (8–14 November):
Croatia*, Denmark, Latvia, San Marino

Group 2 (4–10 October): Germany, Poland*, Northern Ireland, Belarus

Group 3 (8–14 November): Czech Republic, Scotland, Luxembourg*, Armenia

Group 4 (4–10 October): Netherlands*, Slovenia, Hungary, Malta

Group 5 (8–14 November): Belgium, Switzerland, FYR Macedonia*, Liechtenstein

Group 6 (3–9 October): Austria*, Israel, Lithuania, Kosovo

Group 7 (4–10 October): Serbia, Republic of Ireland*, Azerbaijan, Cyprus

Group 8 (8–14 November): England, Bulgaria*, Iceland, Faroe Islands

Group 9 (4–10 October): Italy, Sweden*, Estonia, Moldova

Group 10 (8–14 November): Russia, Greece*, Romania, Gibraltar

Group 11 (8–14 November): France, Georgia, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Andorra

Group 12 (4–10 October): Ukraine, Montenegro, Norway, Albania*

Group 13 (7–13 November): Turkey*, Slovakia, Wales, Kazakhstan


Bye to elite round: Spain, Portugal

Bye to final tournament: Finland (hosts)

Key dates

Elite round draw (Nyon): 6 December 2017
Elite round: spring 2018
Finals draw (Finland): spring 2018
Final tournament (Finland): 16–29 July 2018