UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Nine win through to second stage

The 16 teams which will contest the second qualifying round of the UEFA Women's Cup are known after nine first qualifying round groups concluded at the weekend.

Quarter-final chance

Crucial wins
A number of pools went down to the wire, with Dutch side Saestum defeating Cardiff City LFC 2-0 to win Group 1 from the Welsh challengers, Belgium's KFC Rapide Wezemaal seeing off ZFK Mašinac-Classic Niš 6-1 to top Group 6 and deny the Serbian team a last 16 place for the first time, and Legend-Chekseal Chernigov of Ukraine clinching Group 8 after ending Maccabi Holon FC's hopes of wresting pole position with a comfortable 3-0 success.

Hungary's 1. FC Femina Budapest were more emphatic winners, beating FC NSA Sofia 7-0 to clinch Group 9 with maximum points. That scoreline was matched by RCD Espanyol, Breidablik and HJK Helsinki, who were all already through and celebrated with victories against KÍ Klaksvík, Newtownabbey Strikers WFC and ZFK Skiponjat in Groups 2, 3 and 4 respectively. Russian side WFC Rossiyanka, on their debut in the competition, were equally commanding as they secured top spot in Group 7 with a 6-1 win against Slovakia's FK Slovan Duslo ŠaĬa.

Vitebsk safe
Although Universitet Vitebsk finished level with Italy's ASD Fiammamonza in Group 4, the Belarussian team were secured of first place on at least head-to-head record before the weekend having beaten the Italian champions 1-0, despite then losing by the same scoreline to ŽNK SFK 2000 Sarajevo yesterday.

German might
The holders 1. FFC Frankfurt and the team they defeated in last season’s final, fellow Germans 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam, are among the seven seeded clubs to join the competition in the second qualifying round. The five others (with the best coefficients over the last three seasons) are Umeå IK of Sweden, Danish champions Brøndby IF, England's double-winners, Arsenal LFC, Kolbotn IL from Norway, and Czech challengers AC Sparta Praha.

Second qualifying round (12-17 September)
Group B1
1. FFC Frankfurt (GER, holders)*
HJK Helsinki (FIN)
Universitet Vitebsk (BLR)
Breidablik (ISL)

Group B2
Umeå IK (SWE)*
Kolbotn IK (NOR)*
Legend-Chekseal Chernigov (UKR)
RCD Espanyol (ESP)

Group B3
1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)*
AC Sparta Praha (CZE)*
KFC Rapide Wezemaal (BEL)
Saestum (NED)

Group B4
Brøndby IF (DEN)*
Arsenal LFC (ENG)*
1. FC Femina Budapest (HUN)
WFC Rossiyanka (RUS)

Quarter-finals (11/12 & 18/19 October)
1Runners-up Group B2vWinners Group B1
2Runners-up Group B3vWinners Group B2
3Runners-up Group B4vWinners Group B3
4Runners-up Group B1vWinners Group B4

Semi-finals (4/5 & 11/12 November)
1Winners quarter-final 1vWinners quarter-final 2
2Winners quarter-final 3vWinners quarter-final 4

Final (21/22 & 28/29 April 2007)
1Winners semi-final 1vWinners semi-final 2

(All dates are provisional, first named team home in opening leg)