UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Duisburg's Grings claims scorers' honour

Inka Grings may have been unable to inspire FCR 2001 Duisburg to the final but the Germany striker's competition tally of 13 was the season's best by a margin of four.

Inka Grings (right) has now scored 34 goals in 25 competition appearances
Inka Grings (right) has now scored 34 goals in 25 competition appearances ©FCR 2001 Duisburg

Though 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam were unable to ensure the UEFA Women's Champions League title stayed in Germany, Inka Grings of compatriots FCR 2001 Duisburg ended the season as the competition's top scorer.

The 32-year-old German international striker struck twice in the qualifying round against Glasgow City LFC and then 11 times in the knockout phase before Duisburg's semi-final elimination by Potsdam. She finished four clear of Potsdam's Yuki Nagasato and Lotta Schelin of new champions Olympique Lyonnais. It is the first time Grings − top scorer at the 2005 and 2009 UEFA European Women's Championships − has topped this table.

After three campaigns in this competition for Duisburg, she is now joint second on the all-time list, within five of Hanna Ljungberg's tally of 39 for Umeå IK. However, it is worth noting that Grings's 34 goals have come in only 25 appearances compared to the now retired Ljungberg's 39.

UEFA.com has all the facts and figures from this season's competition.

2010/11 top scorers
Inka Grings (FCR 2001 Duisburg) 13*
Yuki Nagasato (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam) 9
Lotta Schelin (Olympique Lyonnais) 9
Julie Machart (FCF Juvisy-Essonne) 8*
Anja Mittag (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam) 8
Laëtitia Tonazzi (FCF Juvisy-Essonne) 8*

*Includes goals in qualifying round

Previous season top scorers
2009/10: Vanessa Bürki (FC Bayern München) 11
2008/09: Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir (Valur Reykjavík) 14
2007/08: Vira Dyatel (Zhilstroy-1 Karkhiv), Patrizia Panico (ASD CF Bardolino Verona), Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir (Valur Reykjavík) 9
2006/07: Julie Fleeting (Arsenal LFC) 9
2005/06: Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir (Valur Reykjavík) 11
2004/05: Conny Pohlers (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam) 14
2003/04: Maria Gstöttner (SV Neulengbach) 11
2002/03: Hanna Ljungberg (Umeå IK) 10
2001/02: Gabriela Enache (FC Codru Anenii Noi) 12

All-time top scorers
Hanna Ljungberg (Umeå IK) 39
Inka Grings (FCR 2001 Duisburg) 34
Conny Pohlers (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam/1. FFC Frankfurt) 34
Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir (Valur Reykjavík) 34
Nina Burger (SV Neulengbach) 32