UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Lyon triumph is French first

By winning the UEFA Women's Champions League, Olympique Lyonnais have ensured France are on a roll of honour that already includes dominant Germany, Sweden and England.

Wendie Renard celebrates scoring Lyon's opening goal in London
Wendie Renard celebrates scoring Lyon's opening goal in London ©AFP

Olympique Lyonnais have become the first French side to be crowned female European club title winners after beating 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam 2-0 to win the UEFA Women's Champions League final.

Only three nations had previously been home to the winners of this competition and its predecessor, the UEFA Women's Cup, which ran for eight seasons up to 2008/09. Germany have dominated − a Potsdam victory at Craven Cottage would have been the Frauen-Bundesliga's seven win out of the ten editions − with Umeå IK successful for Sweden in 2003 and 2004, and losing to the sole English champions, Arsenal LFC, in 2007.

Lyon have now joined that roll of honour, having only become the first French finalists when losing to Potsdam a year ago. Turbine have made it nine appearances for Germany in the ten finals, including the 2006 edition when they lost to compatriots 1. FFC Frankfurt, still now the sole three-time champions.

Umeå have reached a record five finals – losing three of them – and were involved in both deciders between two non-German sides, their 2007 loss to Arsenal and the defeat of Denmark's Fortuna Hjørring four years earlier. The only other nation to have been represented in the final is Russia, for who Zvezda-2005 lost to FCR 2001 Duisburg over two legs in the last UEFA Women's Cup of 2009.

Past finals
2011: Olympique Lyonnais (FRA) 2-0 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)
2010: 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam 0-0 (7-6 pens) Olympique Lyonnais (FRA)
2009: FCR 2001 Duisburg (GER) 7-1* Zvezda-2005 (RUS)
2008: 1. FFC Frankfurt (GER) 4-3* Umeå IK (SWE)
2007: Arsenal LFC (ENG) 1-0* Umeå IK (SWE)
2006: 1. FFC Frankfurt (GER) 7-2* 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)
2005: 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER) 5-1 Djurgården/Älvsjö (SWE)
2004: Umeå IK (SWE) 8-0* 1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2003: Umeå IK (SWE) 7-1* Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)
2002: 1. FFC Frankfurt (GER) 2-0 Umeå IK (SWE)
*aggregate score

Competition victories by country
Germany 6
Sweden 2
England 1
France 1

Final appearances by country (including 2011)
Germany 9
Sweden 6
France 2
Denmark 1
England 1
Russia 1