UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Experienced Lyon face newcomers Wolfsburg

Olympique Lyonnais aim to become the first team to win the title three years in a row as they face competition debutants VfL Wolfsburg. UEFA.com has all the match facts.

Lotta Schelin (left) and Conny Pohlers are both aiming for third triumphs
Lotta Schelin (left) and Conny Pohlers are both aiming for third triumphs ©UEFA.com

UEFA Women's Champions League holders Olympique Lyonnais aim to become the first team to win the title three years in a row as they face competition debutants VfL Wolfsburg at Chelsea FC's Stamford Bridge.

Previous meetings
• This is the clubs' first competitive fixture but the fourth straight final where Lyon have played a German side. In 2010 in Getafe they lost on penalties to 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam, whom they then beat 2-0 at Fulham FC a year later before victory by the same scoreline against 1. FFC Frankfurt in Munich.

Match background
• Lyon are the first team to contest four straight European women's club finals. Indeed, they have made the finals of all four UEFA Women's Champions League seasons since the switch to the competition's current name and format in 2009/10.

• Frankfurt's victories in 2002, 2006 and 2008 make them the only three-time champions; in all, Germany have produced six of the 11 winners.

• Three different German sides – Frankfurt, Potsdam and FCR 2001 Duisburg – have taken the title, with just one victorious club each for the other successful nations: Sweden's Umeå IK (2003, 2004), France's Lyon (2011, 2012) and England's Arsenal LFC (2007).

• This is the sixth final in a row with German representatives – they won the first three of those before two losses to Lyon.

• Frankfurt (2002), Potsdam (2005) and Duisburg (2009) all won on their debut, as Wolfsburg are aiming to do. The sole German team to fail were FC Bayern München, who got to the 2009/10 round of 16 but lost 1-0 on aggregate to a Montpellier Hérault SC outfit containing current Lyon duo Sabrina Viguier and Céline Deville.

• Patrice Lair, appointed Lyon coach after the 2010 final, was in charge of Montpellier for their run to the 2005/06 semi-finals in which OL's Sonia Bompastor, Camille Abily and Élodie Thomis all featured. Frankfurt knocked Montpellier out on away goals.

• Lyon were semi-finalists for a record sixth year running this season – every one of their entries. Frankfurt have also played six semi-finals.

Team facts
• Five Lyon players could take part in their fourth straight final: Sarah Bouhaddi, Wendie Renard, Amandine Henry, Louisa Nécib and Lara Dickenmann.

• As well as those six, Abily, Bompastor, Eugénie Le Sommer, Lotta Schelin, Viguier and coach Lair could also celebrate a third straight triumph. Abily has been player of the match for the last two years while Lair would become the first three-time coach winner.

• With last month's semi-final second-leg success at FCF Juvisy Essonne, Bompastor was involved in a record 42nd competition victory (one more than Lyon themselves). Abily is only one behind.

• Three Wolfsburg players faced Lyon in finals while at Potsdam – Josephine Henning, Viola Odebrecht and Nadine Kessler.

• Previous competition winners in the Wolfsburg camp are Henning (Potsdam 2010), Odebrecht (Potsdam 2005 and 2010), Navina Omilade (Potsdam 2005), Kessler (Potsdam 2010), Alexandra Popp (Duisburg 2009), Conny Pohlers (Potsdam 2005, Frankfurt 2008).

• Pohlers could become the first player to lift the trophy with three different sides. This season she became the all-time UEFA women's club competition leading scorer and has 42 goals from 38 appearances.

• The last team to stop Lyon reaching a final were Duisburg, 4-2 aggregate winners in the 2009 semi-finals. Popp was in the Duisburg side that drew 1-1 away and won 3-1 at home. Renard, Laura Georges, Thomis, Schelin, Nécib, Dickenmann, Henry and Corine Franco all figured for Lyon.

• Wolfsburg's Germany squad members (Luisa Wensing, Verena Faisst, Henning, Odebrecht, Lena Goessling, Popp, plus former internationals Martina Müller and Pohlers) are well acquainted with Lyon's French internationals (Bouhaddi, Deville, Renard, Georges, Franco, Bompastor, Viguier, Henry, Nécib, Élise Bussaglia, Abily, Thomis, Le Sommer), as well as Schelin (Sweden), Shinobu Ohno (Japan), Dickenmann (Switzerland) and Megan Rapinoe (United States).

• France and Germany drew 3-3 in Strasbourg on 13 February. Bouhaddi, Franco, Georges, Renard, Abily, Nécib, Le Sommer and substitute Thomis lined up against Kessler, Faisst and substitute Goessling. Nécib and Kessler both scored twice.

London calling
• Lyon claimed their first European crown in London in 2011, having knocked out Arsenal in the semi-finals. Wolfsburg travelled to London for their semi-final opener against Arsenal this season and won 2-0.

• OL team-mates Rapinoe and Ohno, who both joined in the winter, were rivals in the 2012 Olympic final at Wembley. Rapinoe's United States beat Ohno's Japan 2-1.

Selected for you