UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Tyresö miss out on seeding

The round of 32 draw will be made in Nyon from 12.30CET on 5 September, streamed live and followed by the last 16 draw and UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award.

The draw hall in Nyon ready for the draw on Thursday morning
The draw hall in Nyon ready for the draw on Thursday morning ©Getty Images

Swedish debutants Tyresö FF have missed out on seeding after the pots were confirmed for the UEFA Women's Champions League round of 32 draw at 12.30CET on 5 September, which will be streamed live on UEFA.com and followed by the round of 16 draw.

In the ceremony in Nyon, which will also include the result of the vote to decide which of Nadine Angerer, Lena Goessling and Lotta Schelin will win the inaugural UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award, the ten teams that qualified from last week's qualifying round join the 22 clubs given byes to the knockout phase (the top two sides in the eight highest-ranked countries according to the access list and the champions of the next six associations).

Those 32 teams have been split into two pots, with the 16 clubs with the highest coefficient placed in the seeded section. The seeded clubs will be at home in the second legs of their ties on 9/10 and 16/17 October, and can meet any of the unseeded sides other than those from their own association. Seeded Glasgow City LFC cannot play FC Twente as those teams were in the same qualifying round group.

The progress of experienced European campaigners Glasgow and RTP Unia Racibórz means that Swedish champions Tyresö, initially ranked 15th of the clubs given byes to the round of 32, now drop to 17th and into the unseeded pot. As the newcomers include in their squad Marta and two of the first six in the UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award voting – Verónica Boquete and Caroline Seger – they will be a side to avoid for the seeds.

Among those seeds are holders VfL Wolfsburg, former champions 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam and Arsenal LFC, plus other teams tipped to contend including Paris Saint-Germain FC and FCR Malmö. Although Malmö cannot face Swedish rivals Tyresö in the round of 32, they will be able to meet them in the round of 16 as there is no country protection. 

That round will be held on 9/10 and 13/14 November and the two-legged knockout system continues until the final on 22 May in Lisbon, two days before the men's UEFA Champions League decider at the Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica. It will be the fifth one-off final under the current format, with the previous four matching Lyon against a German club.

Round of 32 lineup with coefficients

VfL Wolfsburg (GER, holders) 51.444
Olympique Lyonnais (FRA) 132.885
1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)* 98.444
Arsenal LFC (ENG) 83.335
FC Rossiyanka (RUS)* 58.305
ASD Torres Calcio (ITA) 57.210
Brøndby IF (DEN) 45.385
FCR Malmö (SWE)* 45.305
AC Sparta Praha (CZE) 43.225
Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)* 41.385
Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA)* 37.885
SV Neulengbach (AUT) 37.240
FK Zorkiy Krasnogorsk (RUS) 26.305
Glasgow City LFC (SCO)** 23.275
Birmingham City LFC (ENG)* 21.335
RTP Unia Racibórz (POL)** 19.945

Tyresö FF (SWE) 19.305
FC Zürich Frauen (SUI)** 17.615
R. Standard de Liège (BEL) 17.280
UPC Tavagnacco (ITA)* 17.210
Apollon Limassol LFC (CYP)** 15.960
WFC SSHVSM Kairat (KAZ) 14.270
MTK Hungária FC (HUN)** 12.625
FC Barcelona (ESP) 12.405
LSK Kvinner FK (NOR) 12.230
PK-35 Vantaa (FIN)** 10.290
Thór/KA (ISL) 9.270
FSK St. Pölten-Spratzern (AUT)* 9.240
ŽFK Spartak Subotica (SRB)** 8.960
FC Twente (NED)** 8.775
Pärnu JK (EST)** 1.660
Konak Belediyesi (TUR)** 0.990

*National runners-up
**Progressed from qualifying round

Tournament calendar
Round of 32 & 16 draw: 5 September
Round of 32: 9/10 & 16/17 October
Round of 16: 9/10 November & 13/14 November
Quarter-final & Semi-final draw: 21 November
Quarter-finals: 22/23 & 29/30 March
Semi-finals: 19/20 & 26/27 April
Final (Lisbon): 22 May

Selected for you