UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Tyresö hope to turn tables on Wolfsburg

Debutants Tyresö FF tackle holders VfL Wolfsburg at Lisbon's Estádio do Restelo on 22 May and UEFA.com crunches the key facts and figures ahead of the final.

Tyresö and Wolfsburg are matched in Lisbon
Tyresö and Wolfsburg are matched in Lisbon ©UEFA.com

Last season VfL Wolfsburg, on debut, beat holders Olympique Lyonnais in the UEFA Women's Champions League final. On 22 May in Lisbon, newcomers Tyresö FF of Sweden hope to do the same to Wolfsburg.

Previous meetings
• This is the clubs' first competitive fixture and they have never met a side from their opponents' nation in Europe before.

Match background
• Tyresö hope to emulate Wolfsburg, who last season became the fourth team to win the trophy on their debut campaign. All are German: 1. FFC Frankfurt (2002, the inaugural season), 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (2005) and FCR 2001 Duisburg (2009) were the previous three.

• Four different German sides – Frankfurt (2002, 2006, 2008), Potsdam (2005, 2010), Duisburg (2009) and Wolfsburg (2013) – have taken the title, with just one victorious club each for the other successful nations: Sweden's Umeå IK (2003, 2004), France's Olympique Lyonnais (2011, 2012) and England's Arsenal LFC (2007).

• Wolfsburg hope to become the third team to successfully defend the trophy after Umeå and Lyon.

• This is the seventh final in a row (and 11th overall) with German representatives – they won the first three of those before two losses to Lyon, who were then beaten by Wolfsburg 1-0 at Stamford Bridge last season.

• This is the seventh final with Swedish representatives, Umeå winning in 2003 and 2004 but losing in 2002, 2007 and 2008, as did Djurgårdens IF DFF in 2005. All 13 finals have involved a team from either (or both) Germany and Sweden.

• This is the fifth final between German and Swedish sides in 13 seasons. Frankfurt beat Umeå in 2002 and 2008 but lost to them in 2004. Potsdam overcame Djurgården in 2005.

Team facts
• Several Tyresö players are set to leave in the summer: Meghan Kingenberg, Whitney Engen, Christen Press, Marta, Caroline Seger and Verónica Boquete.

• Madelaine Edlund returned to the squad from maternity leave in the winter, when Tinja-Riikka Korpela, Fabiana, Rilany, Mayara and Thaisa were all signed.

• Tyresö forward Marta is hoping for her second winners' medal ten years after her first, when she inspired Umeå's 8-0 aggregate defeat of Frankfurt. She scored two in the 3-0 first-leg home win and another as Umeå prevailed 5-0 in Germany.

• Marta also featured in Umeå's 2007 and 2008 final defeats. Edlund, Lisa Dahlkvist and Carola Söberg also were in their team in 2007 and 2008, though Söberg was only on the bench in 2008.

• In the 2008 final Marta opened the scoring early in the home first leg for Umeå before Conny Pohlers equalised for Frankfurt. Pohlers also scored twice in the 3-2 return in Frankfurt, when Dahlqvist was on target at the other end.

• Wolfsburg's Pohlers, who will be playing her last European game before retiring in the summer, is the only player to win the competition with three clubs: Potsdam (2005), Frankfurt (2008) and Wolfsburg (2013).

• Pohlers and Viola Odebrecht could become the tournament's first four-time winners.

• Pohlers is the all-time leading competition scorer on 48 goals.

• Pohlers is the all-time leading scorer in finals on eight goals, four more than Marta in joint second. If Pohlers plays she will equal Anna Paulson's record of eight appearances in final games (including both legs of pre-2009/10 finals).

• Other multiple competition winners in the Wolfsburg squad are Josephine Henning (Potsdam 2010, Wolfsburg 2013), Odebrecht (Potsdam 2005 and 2010, Wolfsburg 2013), Nadine Kessler (Potsdam 2010, Wolfsburg 2013) and Alexandra Popp (Duisburg 2009, Wolfsburg 2013).

• Of Wolfsburg's other final winners from last season, Luisa Wensing, Lena Goessling, Zsanett Jakabfi, Anna Blässe, Ivonne Hertmann, Martina Müller, substitute Lina Magull and unused substitute Stephanie Bunte plus coach Ralf Kellermann also remain. Müller scored a 73rd-minute penalty to beat Lyon 1-0 at Stamford Bridge, London.

• Kellermann could emulate Bernd Schröder (Potsdam, 2005 & 2010), Hans-Jürgen Tritschoks (Frankfurt 2006 & 2008) and Patrice Lair (Lyon, 2011 & 2012) in twice winning as coach.

• Wolfsburg's Nilla Fischer is a Sweden squad-mate of Söberg, Seger, Edlund, Dahlqvist, Antonia Göransson and Malin Diaz.

Lisbon precedent
• Wolfsburg will hope to become the second German team to lift a UEFA trophy in Lisbon: SV Werder Bremen beat AS Monaco FC 2-0 to win the 1992 European Cup Winners' Cup, the only continental final at the old Estádio da Luz.

Selected for you