UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Round of 32 seedings

The two seedings pots have been confirmed for the round of 32 draw streamed live from 13.30CET on Friday, followed by the open round of 16 draw.

The draw is made on 22 August
The draw is made on 22 August ©Getty Images

Debutants Liverpool LFC have missed out on seeding after the pots were confirmed for the UEFA Women's Champions League round of 32 draw at 13.30CET on Friday 22 August, which will be streamed live on UEFA.com and followed by the round of 16 draw.

In the ceremony in Nyon, the ten teams that qualified from the qualifying round, which ended on Thursday, join the 22 clubs given byes to the knockout phase (the top two sides in the eight highest-ranked countries according to the access list, which for the first time included the Czech Republic, and the champions of the next six associations).


Round of 32 draw
Those 32 teams have been split into two pots, with the 16 clubs with the highest coefficient placed in the seeded section. The seeded clubs will be at home in the second legs of their ties on 8/9 and 15/16 October, and can meet any of the unseeded sides other than those from their own association.

The progress of experienced European campaigners Glasgow City FC and FC Zürich Frauen means that Norwegian champions Stabæk FK and FA Women's Super League winners Liverpool, initially ranked 15th and 16th respectively of the clubs given byes to the round of 32, now drop into the unseeded pot. Last year that happened to Tyresö FF, and they ended up knocking out Paris Saint-Germain and reaching the final.

Among those seeds are holders VfL Wolfsburg, who retained the trophy by beating Tyresö 4-3 in May, sole three-time winners 1. FFC Frankfurt and twice champions Olympique Lyonnais. Other teams tipped to contend including Paris and FC Rosengård (formerly FCR Malmö and the new home of Marta) plus former runners-up Fortuna Hjørring and WFC Zvezda-2005 Perm.

Round of 16 draw
Following the round of 32 draw, the pairings will be made for the last 16 on 8/9 and 12/13 November, for which there will be no seeding nor country protection. The two-legged knockout system continues until the final at the Ludwig-Jahn-Sportpark in Berlin, on the earlier date of Thursday 14 May due to the FIFA Women's World Cup.

Round of 32 lineup with coefficients

VfL Wolfsburg (GER, holders) 78.249
Olympique Lyonnais (FRA) 127.905
ASD Torres Calcio (ITA)* 68.035
FC Rosengård (SWE) 54.295
Fortuna Hjørring (DEN) 47.550
1. FFC Frankfurt (GER) 47.249
SV Neulengbach (AUT) 46.395
Brøndby IF (DEN)* 45.550
AC Sparta Praha (CZE)* 45.220
Linköpings FC (SWE)* 44.295
Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA)* 39.905
WFC Zvezda-2005 Perm (RUS)* 38.510
Glasgow City LFC (SCO)** 29.260
FC Barcelona (ESP) 25.550
FC Zürich Frauen (SUI)** 23.600 
Bristol Academy WFC (ENG)* 23.305

Stabæk FK (NOR) 22.900
Apollon LFC (CYP)** 21.280
Liverpool LFC (ENG) 19.305 - debut
MTK Hungária FC (HUN)** 16.285
Ryazan-VDV (RUS) 15.510
FC BIIK-Kazygurt (KAZ) 14.270
ACF Brescia (ITA) 13.035 - debut
FC Twente (NED) 11.940
SK Slavia Praha (CZE) 11.220
Stjarnan (ISL) 9.610
ŽNK Osijek (CRO)** 6.650
ŽNK Pomurje (SVN)** 6.475
KKPK Medyk Konin (POL)** 6.105 - debut
Gintra Universitetas (LTU)** 5.320
Clube Atlético Ouriense (POR)** 4.305
Raheny United (IRL)** 3.640

*National runners-up (Linköpings FC replace Tyresö FF)
**Progressed from qualifying round

Tournament calendar
Round of 32 & 16 draw: 22 August
Round of 32: 8/9 & 15/16 October
Round of 16: 8/9 November & 12/13 November
Quarter-final & Semi-final draw: 19 November
Quarter-finals: 21/22 & 28/29 March
Semi-finals: 18/19 & 25/26 April
Final (Berlin): 14 May

Media wishing to attend the draw should send an email to media_accreditations@uefa.ch mentioning 'UWCL draw' in the subject.

Related Items