UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Lyon to face Paris in all-French final

UEFA Women's Champions League holders Lyon will face Paris Saint-Germain at Cardiff City Stadium on 1 June in the first all-French UEFA competition final.

Ada Hegerberg of Lyon in 2016 action with Jessica Houara-D’Hommeaux, who joined Ol last summer
Ada Hegerberg of Lyon in 2016 action with Jessica Houara-D’Hommeaux, who joined Ol last summer ©Sportsfile

For the first time since Frenchman Gabriel Hanot dreamt up the European Cup, two sides from that nation will meet in a UEFA club final when Lyon play Paris Saint-Germain at Cardiff City Stadium on 1 June for the UEFA Women's Champions League title.

Holders Lyon saw off Manchester City to reach their joint-record sixth final while Paris are in the decider for the second time following their elimination of Barcelona. These two are familiar opponents, and not just in domestic competition ...

• These teams are meeting for the third season running in this competition.

• Last season, Lyon dominated their semi-final with Paris, winning 7-0 at home and 1-0 away.

• In 2014/15, Paris handed Lyon their second straight round of 16 elimination, drawing 1-1 at home but winning 1-0 at Stade de Gerland.

• This term they have played three times. Paris won the first hame 1-0 at home in the league on 17 December with an 83rd-minute Marie-Laure Delie goal.

• Lyon had revenge on 13 May with a 3-0 win courtesy of Eugénie Le Sommer, Ada Hegeberg and Alex Morgan, all in the first 28 minutes. By then Lyon had already won their 11th straight French title and Paris were confirmed in third place, meaning they must win in Cardiff to qualify for Europe next season.

• Six days later they played again in the French Cup final in Vannes, with Morgan missing due to an hamstring injury in the league game that has made her a doubt for Cardiff.  Paris led on seven minutes but a penalty just past the half-hour by Saki Kumagi meant the game ended 1-1.

• It was straight to a shoot-out, and both teams converted their first four kicks before Irene Paredes missed, only for Kumagai to hit the post. Both teams scored twice in sudden death before Méline Gérard saved from Ouleymata Sarr and Hegerberg converted to seal Lyon's sixth straight double 7-6 on penalties.

Ex-Lyon man Patrice Lair is now plotting their Cardiff downfall
Ex-Lyon man Patrice Lair is now plotting their Cardiff downfall©Sportsfile

• Paris are coached by Patrice Lair, who led Lyon to their first two European crowns in 2011 and 2012. Shirley Cruz Traña and Laura Georges, now at Paris, were in those Lyon teams.

• Lyon's Dzsenifer Marozsán and Paris playmaker Verónica Boquete were both in the FFC Frankfurt side that beat the French capital club 2-1 in the 2015 final.

Key facts
• Lyon have equalled Frankfurt's record of reaching six finals and hope to match the German club's total of four victories.

• Frankfurt overcame German rivals Turbine Potsdam in the only previous one-nation women's final in 2006.

• Either Lyon or Paris have been in all but one final since the rebrand to the UEFA Women's Champions League in 2009/10.

2010: Turbine Potsdam (GER) 0-0, 7-6 pens Lyon (FRA), Getafe
2011: Lyon (FRA) 2-0 Turbine Potsdam (GER), Fulham
2012: Lyon (FRA) 2-0 FFC Frankfurt (GER), Munich
2013: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-0 Lyon (FRA), Chelsea
2014: Wolfsburg (GER) 4-3 Tyresö (SWE), Lisbon
2015: FFC Frankfurt (GER) 2-1 Paris Saint-Germain (FRA), Berlin
2016: Lyon (FRA) 1-1, 4-3 pens Wolfsburg (GER), Reggio Emilia

Every final since 2010: highlights

• Lyon's Sarah Bouhaddi, Wendie Renard, Camille Abily and Le Sommer have been in all three previous final-winning teams.

• Bouhaddi and Renard featured in all five of Lyon's finals between 2010 and 2013 and in 2016.

• Abily has made 72 appearances in Europe, a record for an outfielder and only seven behind the record of 79 held by former Arsenal goalkeeper Emma Byrne.

• Lyon will equal Arsenal's record of 79 European games by a women's club in the final.

• Lair could become the first coach to win this trophy three times, and also the only person to manage multiple clubs to victory.