UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Lyon match Frankfurt's record

Lyon's fourth UEFA Women's Champions League final victory means they have equalled FFC Frankfurt's record and they have become the first team ever to twice retain the trophy.

Lyon celebrate retaining the title
Lyon celebrate retaining the title ©Sportsfile

Lyon's second straight penalty shoot-out success in a UEFA Women's Champions League final means they have equalled FFC Frankfurt's record of four European titles.

Having already matched Frankfurt's six final appearances by making it to Cardiff, Lyon knew victory would also take them level with the German side on a quartet of wins. Coincidentally, Frankfurt also reached six finals and four wins when they beat Paris Saint-Germain 2-1 two years ago.

Two French teams making the final means they have now totalled eight appearances, overtaking Sweden and behind only Germany's 14. However, despite Lyon's triumph, Germany are still five victories clear of France, their clubs having lifted the trophy nine times in the 16-year history of the competition.

In the UEFA Women's Champions League era since 2009/10, however, France are level at 4-4 with Germany in wins, and 8-7 up on final appearances – 2014 runners-up Tyresö from Sweden the only exception in either category.

Highlights Lyon make it four inCardiff
  • Finals (winners in bold)

UEFA Women's Champions League
2016/17: Lyon (FRA) 0-0, 7-6 pens Paris Saint-Germain (FRA)
2015/16: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-1 aet, 3-4 pens Lyon (FRA)
2014/15: FFC Frankfurt (GER) 2-1 Paris Saint-Germain (FRA)
2013/14: Tyresö (SWE) 3-4 Wolfsburg (GER)
2012/13: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-0 Lyon (FRA)
2011/12: Lyon (FRA) 2-0 FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2010/11: Lyon (FRA) 2-0 Turbine Potsdam (GER)
2009/10: Lyon (FRA) 0-0 aet, 6-7 pens Turbine Potsdam (GER)
UEFA Women's Cup

2008/09: Zvezda-2005 (RUS) 1-7 agg Duisburg (GER)
2007/08: Umeå (SWE) 3-4 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2006/07: Umeå (SWE)  0-1 agg Arsenal (ENG)
2005/06: Turbine Potsdam (GER) 2-7 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2004/05: Djurgården (SWE) 1-5 agg Turbine Potsdam (GER)
2003/04: Umeå (SWE) 8-0 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2002/03: Umeå (SWE) 7-1 agg Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)
2001/02: Umeå (SWE) 0-2 FFC Frankfurt (GER)

  • Most wins

By club 
FFC Frankfurt (GER)/Lyon (FRA) 4
Turbine Potsdam (GER)/Umeå (SWE)/Wolfsburg (GER) 2
Arsenal (ENG)/Duisburg (GER) 1

By country
Germany 9
France 4
Sweden 2
England 1

  • Most final appearances

By club
FFC Frankfurt (GER)/Lyon (FRA) 6
Umeå (SWE) 5
Turbine Potsdam (GER) 4
Wolfsburg (GER) 3
Paris Saint-Germain (FRA) 2
Arsenal (ENG)/Djurgården (SWE)/Duisburg (GER)/Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)/Tyresö (SWE)/Zvezda-2005 (RUS) 1

By country
Germany 14
France 8
Sweden 7
Denmark, England, Russia 1

(2006 final counts as two German appearances, 2017 counts as two French appearances)