UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Rus tops scorers' table

Romanian international Laura Rus finished the UEFA Women's Champions League season as 11-goal top scorer despite Apollon Limassol LFC's campaign ending in the last 32.

Apollon Limassol, with the help of Rus's 11 goals, made it to the last 32
Apollon Limassol, with the help of Rus's 11 goals, made it to the last 32 ©Apollon Limassol LFC

Romanian international Laura Rus ended the UEFA Women's Champions League season as leading scorer despite Apollon Limassol LFC's campaign finishing in the round of 32.

Going into tonight's final, VfL Wolfsburg striker Conny Pohlers needed a hat-trick to match Rus's tournament tally of 11, though the Apollon forward did get nine of those in the qualifying round, from which the German side were exempt. However, she did not score as Wolfsburg beat Olympique Lyonnais 1-0 in the final and Rus, equal third last year, took the honour outright.

In the competition proper, Pohlers came joint first on eight goals with ASD Torres CF stalwart Patrizia Panico. Pohlers' sixth strike of this season's competition, at Røa IL in November's round of 16 second leg, made the former 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam and 1. FFC Frankfurt player the first to score 40 in the tournament's history.

With that effort, Pohlers knocked Hanna Ljungberg off the top of the all-time table, where the former Umeå IK player had been since 2003. Germany's Pohlers reached that mark just ahead of two compatriots also in the competition this term, Anja Mittag and Inka Grings.

UEFA.com has all the facts and figures from this season's competition.

2012/13 top scorers
Laura Rus
(Apollon Limassol LFC) 11*
(RTP Unia Racibórz) 9*
Cosmina Duşa
(CFF Olimpia Cluj) 9*
Patrizia Panico
(ASD Torres CF) 8
Conny Pohlers
(VfL Wolfsburg) 8
Lotta Schelin
(Olympique Lyonnais) 7
Liliana Kostova (Apollon Limassol LFC) 7*
Fanni Vágó (MTK Hungária FC) 7*

*Includes goals in qualifying round

Previous season top scorers
2011/12: Camille Abily, Eugénie Le Sommer (both Olympique Lyonnais) 9
2010/11: Inka Grings (FCR 2001 Duisburg) 13
2009/10: Vanessa Bürki (FC Bayern München) 11
2008/09: Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir (Valur Reykjavík) 14
2007/08: Vira Dyatel (Zhilstroy-1 Karkhiv), Patrizia Panico (ASD CF Bardolino Verona), Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir (Valur Reykjavík) 9
2006/07: Julie Fleeting (Arsenal LFC) 9
2005/06: Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir (Valur Reykjavík) 11
2004/05: Conny Pohlers (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam) 14
2003/04: Maria Gstöttner (SV Neulengbach) 11
2002/03: Hanna Ljungberg (Umeå IK) 10
2001/02: Gabriela Enache (FC Codru Anenii Noi) 12

All-time top scorers
Conny Pohlers (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam/1. FFC Frankfurt/VfL Wolfsburg) 42
Hanna Ljungberg (Umeå IK) 39
Anja Mittag (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam/FC Malmö) 39
Inka Grings (FCR 2001 Duisburg/FC Zürich) 38
Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir (Valur Reykjavík/1. FFC Turbine Potsdam) 34