UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2020 Women's Champions League finals: Bilbao, San Sebastián

Lyon's final triumph concluded ten days of action at San Mamés Stadium and Anoeta Stadium.


The 2019/20 UEFA Women's Champions League concluded as an eight-team straight knock-out tournament at San Mamés Stadium in Bilbao and Anoeta Stadium in San Sebastián, after the postponement of the original matches in March and April, and the final at Vienna's Viola Park scheduled for May. The finals were played behind closed doors.



    Friday 21 August
    Glasgow City 1-9 Wolfsburg (Anoeta Stadium, San Sebastián)
    Atlético Madrid 0-1 Barcelona

    Saturday 22 August
    Arsenal 1-2 Paris Saint-Germain (Anoeta Stadium, San Sebastián)
    Lyon 2-1 Bayern München (San Mamés Stadium, Bilbao)


    Tuesday 25 August
    Wolfsburg 1-0 Barcelona (Anoeta Stadium, San Sebastián)
    Wednesday 26 August
    Paris Saint-Germain 0-1 Lyon (San Mamés Stadium, Bilbao)


    Sunday 30 August
    Wolfsburg 1-3 Lyon (Anoeta Stadium, San Sebastián)


    AnoetaGetty Images

    Anoeta Stadium, San Sebastián

    • Opened in 1993 and renovated between 2017 and 2019, removing the track around the pitch and increasing capacity.
    • Home to Real Sociedad, and has also staged French Top 14 rugby fixtures involving Biarritz and Aviron Bayonnais.
    • In February 2019, hosted a women's league match between Real Sociedad and Athletic Club in front of 21,234 fans, with 18,731 then watching a cup semi-final against Sevilla the following week.

    San Mamés Stadium, Bilbao

    • The present home of Athletic Club opened in 2013, replacing the 90-year-old arena of the same name.
    • One of the venues for UEFA EURO in 2021, including Spain's three group games and a round of 16 match, the stadium has also staged major concerts, the 2018 European club rugby finals and a lap of the pitch was part of cycling's 2019 Vuelta a España.
    • The Athletic women's team have played several games in the new stadium, attracting 48,121 fans for a 2019 cup tie against Atlético, at the time a Spanish record.


    Due to the cancellation of most domestic women's leagues, there was a clear break between the 2019/2020 and 2020/21 seasons. As most clubs were unable to extend existing contracts due to the additional financial burden, the UEFA Executive Committee decided to allow the registration of six new players for the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final.

    All six players could have been fielded for another club in a previous round, but only a maximum of three of these were permitted to have played for one of the other quarter-finalists.

    Such additional registrations had to be completed by midnight CET on 18 August 2020.