UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2021 Women's Champions League final: Gamla Ullevi, Gothenburg

Gamla Ullevi, Gothenburg will stage the 2021 UEFA Women's Champions League final on 16 May.

UWCL Final Gothenburg 2021 Promo

Gamla Ullevi, Gothenburg will stage the 2021 UEFA Women's Champions League final at 21:00 CET on Sunday 16 May in a year marking the 400th anniversary of the Swedish city's founding.

Where can I watch?

UEFA's partners in Europe and across the globe will be broadcasting the final, with streams on UEFA.tv in certain territories. Find your local broadcast partner(s).

No tickets will be on sale for the final at the Gamla Ullevi stadium

Due to current restrictions implemented by the local authorities in Sweden, the UEFA Womens’ Champions League final will be played behind closed doors and therefore no tickets will be on sale.

Venue: Gamla Ullevi, Gothenburg

• A short distance from the Ullevi stadium, which staged several UEFA Cup and UEFA Cup Winners' Cup finals, Gamla Ullevi opened in 2009, replacing another arena of the same name.

• It was the venue for four games at UEFA Women's EURO 2013, including the opening match and a semi-final, as well as four 2009 UEFA European Under-21 Championship fixtures.

• Gamla Ullevi is the regular home of the Sweden women's national team as well as clubs GAIS, IFK Göteborg and Örgryte

• It will be the first time that a UEFA Women's Champions League final has been played in Sweden, but that nation was the venue on five occasions when the old UEFA Women's Cup was decided over two legs. Umeå's Gammliavallen staged the first leg in 2003, 2007 and 2008 when the home club reached the final, while in 2004 they hosted FFC Frankfurt at the Råsunda Stadium in Stockholm, whose Olympic Stadium staged Djurgården vs Turbine Potsdam a year later.

Who will contest the final?

Chelsea will be in their first final against 2019 runners-up Barcelona, ensuring that in the 20th season since the first UEFA Women's Cup, a new name will join the roll of honour that currently includes Lyon (7 titles), FFC Frankfurt (4), Umeå (2), Turbine Potsdam (2), Wolfsburg (2), Arsenal (1) and Duisburg (1).

Is there VAR?

VAR explained

Yes! The video assistant referee (VAR) system was introduced for the final last season. Under the new format next season, it will be used from the quarter-finals onwards.

Who's the final referee?

The refereeing team in Gothenburg will be appointed before the final.

Final ambassador: Lotta Schelin