Bayern's Bürki takes top scorer prize

Her team were knocked out in the last 16, but with 11 goals FC Bayern München striker Vanessa Bürki was the leading scorer in the UEFA Women's Champions League's first season.

Vanessa Bürki of Bayern
Vanessa Bürki of Bayern ©Getty Images

FC Bayern München striker Vanessa Bürki has ended the first season of the UEFA Women's Champions League as top scorer despite her side's exit in the round of 16.

The 24-year-old Swiss international finished with 11 goals, including six in Bayern's 19-0 qualifying round win against FC Norchi Dinamoeli Tbilisi. That was also the biggest margin of victory in the new competition, which replaced the former UEFA Women's Cup. One goal behind Bürki was Ida Brännström, whose Linköpings FC side – like Bayern – made their European debut in the qualifying round.

Anja Mittag of winners 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam could have topped the table with a hat-trick in the final but ended with nine goals, joint third alongside FCR 2001 Duisburg's Inka Grings and Arsenal LFC midfielder Kim Little. Olympique Lyonnais' top scorer was Lotta Schelin on five.

Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir, top scorer in three of the last four UEFA Women's Cup seasons, did not take part this term having left Valur Reykjavík. Former Umeå IK player Hanna Ljungberg, who has now retired, remains the all-time leading scorer in UEFA women's club competition with 39 goals, five ahead of Vidarsdóttir.

2009/10 UEFA Women's Champions League top scorers
Player Club Goals
Vanessa Bürki FC Bayern München (GER)
Ida Brännström Linköpings FC (SWE)

Inka Grings

FCR 2001 Duisburg (GER) 9
Kim Little Arsenal LFC (ENG) 9
Anja Mittag 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)

UEFA Women's Cup season top scorers
Season Player Club Goals
2008/09 Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir Valur Reykjavík (ISL) 14
2007/08 Vira Dyatel
Patrizia Panico
Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir
Zhilstroy-1 Karkhiv (UKR)
ASD CF Bardolino Verona (ITA)
Valur Reykjavík (ISL)
2006/07 Julie Fleeting Arsenal LFC (ENG) 9
2005/06 Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir Valur Reykjavík (ISL)
2004/05 Conny Pohlers 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER) 14
2003/04 Maria Gstöttner SV Neulengbach (AUT) 11
2002/03 Hanna Ljungberg Umeå IK (SWE) 10
2001/02 Gabriela Enache FC Codru Anenii Noi (MDA) 12