UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Futsal EURO Slovenia 2018

Arena Stožice in Ljubljana staged UEFA Futsal EURO 2018 from 30 January to 10 February.

Arena Stožice
Arena Stožice ©Aleš Hostnik

Arena Stožice in the Slovenian capital Ljubljana staged UEFA Futsal EURO 2018 from 30 January to 10 February.

The hosts
The arena, opened in 2010, has a 12,500 capacity and is home to basketball team KK Olimpija as well as holding the international matches of volleyball side ACH Volley and handball outfit RK Krim. It was the venue for the EuroBasket 2013 finals.

The decision to award the finals was made at the UEFA Executive Committee meeting in Nyon, Switzerland, on 26 January 2015 as the bid from the Football Association of Slovenia (NZS) was selected ahead of others from FYR Macedonia and Romania. It was the first futsal final tournament organised by Slovenia, although the country hosted the 2012 UEFA European Under-17 Championship.

Slovenia thus follows in the footsteps of previous Futsal EURO hosts Serbia (2016), Belgium (2014), Croatia (2012), Hungary (2010), Portugal (2007), Czech Republic (2005), Italy (2003), Russia (2001) and Spain (the first UEFA European Futsal Championship of 1999 and also the 1996 UEFA European tournament).

Watch Spain win the 2016 title in Belgrade

The competition
Twelve teams competed in the finals, with Slovenia and 11 qualifiers split into four groups of three, with the top two from each emerging into the knockout phase.

Group A: Slovenia (hosts), Serbia, Italy

Group B: Kazakhstan, Russia, Poland

Group C: Portugal, Ukraine, Romania

Group D: Spain (holders), Azerbaijan, France

Group stage
Tuesday 30 January
Group A: Slovenia 2-2 Serbia 
Group B: Russia 1-1 Poland
Wednesday 31 January

Group C: Portugal 4-1 Romania
Group D: Spain 4-4 France 
Thursday 1 February
Group B: Poland 1-5 Kazakhstan 
Group A: Serbia 1-1 Italy
Friday 2 February
Group D: France 3-5 Azerbaijan 
Group C: Romania 2-3 Ukraine 
Saturday 3 February
Group B: Kazakhstan 1-1 Russia
Group A: Italy 1-2 Slovenia
Sunday 4 February
Group C: Ukraine 3-5 Portugal
Group D: Azerbaijan 0-1 Spain

Monday 5 February
Serbia 1-3 Kazakhstan 
Slovenia 0-2 Russia 
Tuesday 6 February
Portugal 8-1 Azerbaijan 
Ukraine 0-1 Spain

Thursday 8 February
Russia 2-3 Portugal
Kazakhstan 5-5 Spain (aet, Spain win 3-1 on pens)

Finals day
Saturday 10 February
Third-place play-off: Russia 1-0 Kazakhstan
Final: Portugal 3-2 Spain (aet)