UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Futsal EURO 2022 finals draw

The draw in Zeist split the contenders into four groups of four for the first 16-team finals.

Getty Images

The Netherlands will host UEFA Futsal EURO 2022 from 19 January to 6 February next year, the first edition since the switch from the biennial 12-team tournament to a 16-nation finals held every four years.

The draw at the KNVB Campus in Zeist split the hosts and 15 eventual qualifiers into four groups of four. The group stage will be played at Ziggo Dome, Amsterdam and MartiniPlaza, Groningen, with the knockout phase at Ziggo Dome.

Buy tickets

Draw in full

Group A: Netherlands (hosts), Serbia/Belarus*, Ukraine, Portugal (holders)

  • Portugal won their maiden major title in the last finals in 2018 and added their first FIFA Futsal World Cup in Lithuania this October.
  • Ukraine beat Netherlands 4-1 in the 2005 group stage and 4-3 for fifth place in the inaugural 1996 tournament.
  • The Netherlands, in their last finals appearance in 2014, lost 5-0 to Portugal.
  • Portugal beat Ukraine 5-3 in the 2018 group stage and 2-1 in the 2014 quarter-finals but lost 7-4 in the 2003 group stage.

Group B: Kazakhstan, Italy, Slovenia, Finland

2018 highlights: Italy 1-2 Slovenia
  • Kazakhstan beat Italy 5-2 in the 2016 quarter-finals.
  • Slovenia, as hosts, beat Italy 2-1 in the 2018 group stage, with a late comeback to go through at their opponents' expense, and also 3-2 (against the eventual winners) in 2014 with both teams going through; the Azzurri, themselves at home, won 2-1 in the 2003 group stage on their way to their first title.
  • Italy beat Finland 7-4 at home and 4-2 away in the qualifying group stage, but a 2-2 draw in January 2020 meant Mićo Martić's side finished above the Azzurri in their World Cup qualifying group.
  • Finland are in their debut final tournament.

Group C: Russia, Poland, Slovakia, Croatia

  • Poland, in their first finals game for 17 years, equalised with nine seconds left to draw 1-1 with Russia in their opening 2018 group fixture.
  • Russia pipped Croatia in the 2016 group stage with a 2-2 draw. Four years earlier, Russia beat hosts Croatia 4-2 in the semi-finals at Arena Zagreb in front of a competition-record 14,300 crowd.
  • Croatia beat Poland 2-1 in the 2001 group stage.
  • Slovakia are making their finals debut.
2018 highlights: Russia 1-1 Poland

Group D: Georgia, Spain, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina 

  • Spain beat Azerbaijan 1-0 in the 2018 group stage (with both teams already through) and also 4-2 in the 2016 World Cup.
  • Georgia, and Bosnia and Herzegovina, are both making their finals debuts.

*Play-off (15 & 17 November)

Serbia vs Belarus

Download the full schedule


All kick-off times CET


Wednesday 19 January:

Group A
Serbia/Belarus vs Portugal (17:30, Amsterdam)
Netherlands vs Ukraine (20:30, Amsterdam)

Thursday 20 January:

Group B
Kazakhstan vs Slovenia (17:30, Groningen)
Italy vs Finland (20:30, Groningen)

Friday 21 January:

Group C
Russia vs Slovakia (17:30, Amsterdam)
Poland vs Croatia (20:30, Amsterdam)

Saturday 22 January:

Group D
Georgia vs Azerbaijan (14:30, Groningen)
Spain vs Bosnia and Herzegovina (17:30, Groningen)

Sunday 23 January:

Group A
Serbia/Belarus vs Ukraine (14:30, Amsterdam)
Portugal vs Netherlands (17:30, Amsterdam)

Monday 24 January:

Group B
Italy vs Slovenia (17:30, Groningen)
Finland vs Kazakhstan (20:30, Groningen)

Tuesday 25 January:

Group C
Croatia vs Russia (17:30, Amsterdam)
Poland vs Slovakia (20:30, Amsterdam)

Wednesday 26 January:

Group D
Bosnia and Herzegovina vs Georgia (17:30, Groningen)
Spain vs Azerbaijan (20:30, Groningen)

Friday 28 January:

Group B
Kazakhstan vs Italy (17:30, Groningen)
Slovenia vs Finland (17:30, Amsterdam)

Group A
Ukraine vs Portugal (20:30, Groningen)
Netherlands vs Serbia/Belarus (20:30, Amsterdam)

Saturday 29 January:

Group C
Slovakia vs Croatia (14:30, Groningen)
Russia vs Poland (14:30, Amsterdam)

Group D
Georgia vs Spain (17:30, Groningen)
Azerbaijan vs Bosnia and Herzegovina (17:30, Amsterdam)


Monday 31 January:
QF1: Winner Group B vs Runner-up Group A (KO tbc, Amsterdam)
QF2: Winner Group A vs Runner-up Group B (KO tbc, Amsterdam)

Tuesday 1 February:
QF3: Winner Group C vs Runner-up Group D (KO tbc, Amsterdam)
QF4: Winner Group D vs Runner-up Group C (KO tbc, Amsterdam)


Friday 4 February:
SF1: Winner QF2 vs QF4 (KO tbc, Amsterdam)
SF2: Winner QF1 vs Winner QF3 (KO tbc: Amsterdam)


Ziggo Dome, Amsterdam: Group stage, knockouts

The 10,500-seater arena opened in 2012 and as well as staging major indoor sports it is a leading concert venue.

MartiniPlaza, Groningen: Group stage

The 3,900-seater arena opened in 1989 and was expanded in 2000. It has staged major tennis and basketball events as well as concerts and exhibitions. It is the home of the Donar basketball team.

Netherlands 2022: all you need to know