Paris - Dortmund: TV, Stream, Aufstellungen & Stimmen

Die wichtigsten Infos vor dem Rückspiel zwischen Paris Saint-Germain und Borussia Dortmund im Achtelfinale der UEFA Champions League.

Erling Haaland bei der Ankunft in Paris
Erling Haaland bei der Ankunft in Paris Borussia Dortmund via Getty Imag

Am 11. März um 21 Uhr MEZ kommt es zum Achtelfinal-Rückspiel zwischen Paris Saint-Germain und Borussia Dortmund in der UEFA Champions League. Dieser Vorbericht wird bis dahin regelmäßig mit Team-News, Stimmen und Einschätzungen aktualisiert.

LIVE-BLOG: PARIS - DORTMUND


Wo wird das Spiel übertragen?

Hier geht es zu den regionalen Übertragungspartnern der UEFA Champions League.

Wie lief das Hinspiel?

Highlights: Dortmund - Paris 2:1
Highlights: Dortmund - Paris 2:1

Erling Braut Haaland schraubte seine Ausbeute im laufenden Wettbewerb auf zehn Treffer hoch. Sein sehenswertes zweites Tor markierte er nur zwei Minuten nach dem zwischenzeitlichen Ausgleich von Neymar.

Mögliche Aufstellungen

Paris: Navas - Kehrer, Marquinhos, Kimpembe, Bernat - Di María, Paredes, Gueye, Neymar - Cavani, Mbappé
Es fehlt: Dagba (Knie), Herrera (Oberschenkel), Thiago Silva (Oberschenkel), Meunier (Sperre), Verratti (Sperre)
Gelbsperre droht: Di María

Dortmund: Bürki - Zagadou, Hummels, Piszczek - Hakimi, Can, Witsel, Guerreiro - Sancho, Haaland, Brandt
Es fehlen: Delaney (Knie), Reus (Oberschenkel)
Gelbsperre droht: T. Hazard

Reporter-Einschätzungen

Chris Burke, Paris-Reporter: "Der Druck liegt auf Paris, denn es ist das wichtigste Spiel der Saison bisher. Seit dem Aus gegen Manchester United in der letzten Saison sucht man nach einer Chance, sich zu beweisen. Jetzt ist sie gekommen. Ein weiteres Aus würde ziemlich sicher das Ende für Thomas Tuchel bedeuten."

Matthias Rötters, BVB-Reporter: "Der BVB ist noch lange nicht durch. Das Auswärtstor von PSG in Dortmund könnte für den BVB noch ganz teuer werden in dieser Runde. Paris-Coach Thomas Tuchel schien nach dem Hinspiel in jedem Fall nicht wirklich "angeschossen". Ich gehe davon aus, dass Paris das Rückspiel zu Hause nicht auch verliert und davon, dass der BVB trifft. Weiterkommen können beide Teams."

Aktuelles

Paris
Formkurve: SSSNU
Letztes Spiel: Lyon - Paris 1:5, 04.03, Halbfinale französischer Pokal
Laufende Wettbewerbe: 1. in der Ligue 1, Endspiel französischer Pokal, Ligapokal-Endspiel

Dortmund
Form: SSSSN
Letztes Spiel: Mönchengladbach - Dortmund 1:2, 07.03.
Laufende Wettbewerbe: 2. in der Bundesliga

Trainerstimmen

Thomas Tuchel, Paris
"Es steht nur 1:2. Wir haben noch eine Partie vor uns und es ist erst Halbzeit. Ich glaube, dass wir alle Chancen haben, in die nächste Runde zu kommen. Thiago Silva brennt darauf, gegen Dortmund zu spielen. Wenn er mitmachen kann, könnte Marquinhos auf einer anderen Position spielen. Da müssen wir die richtige Lösung finden."

Lucien Favre, Dortmund
"Wir haben es im Hinspiel sehr gut gemacht und haben nur wenig zugelassen. Wir haben gewonnen und hätten einen höheren Sieg holen können. Kämpferisch und taktisch haben wir es in Dortmund sehr gut gemacht. Aber im Rückspiel ist alles möglich."

Bisherige Duelle

• Das bisher einzige Duell zwischen beiden Teams gab es vor dem Hinspiel in der Gruppenphase der UEFA Europa League 2010/11, beide Spiele endeten damals unentschieden. Am 3. Spieltag glich Paris-Joker Clément Chantôme in der 87. Minute die Dortmunder Führung durch einen Elfmeter von Nuri Şahin aus. Im Parc des Princes fielen zwei Wochen später keine Tore.

• Paris beendete die Gruppe mit 12 Punkten als Erster, Dortmund schied als Dritter mit neun Punkten aus. Die Franzosen scheiterten später im Achtelfinale an Benfica.

Tore vom Duell zwischen Dortmund und Paris aus 2010
Tore vom Duell zwischen Dortmund und Paris aus 2010

Hintergrund

Paris

• Paris hat in dieser Saison fünf seiner sechs Gruppenspiele gewonnen, nur beim 2:2 bei Real Madrid gab man zwei Punkte ab. Im Parc des Princes feierte PSG dagegen einen 3:0-Sieg gegen Real, außerdem besiegte man auch Club Brugge (5:0 A, 1:0 H) und Galatasaray (1:0 A, 5:0 H).

• Die Mannschaft von Tuchel hat in den sechs Spielen nur zwei Gegentore hinnehmen müssen (beide gegen Real), weniger als jedes andere Team. In den letzten drei Partien in der Königsklasse kassierten die Franzosen jedoch vier Gegentreffer.

• Paris hat neun seiner letzten 14 Spiele in der UEFA Champions League gewonnen (3U, 2N) und in den letzten 31 Spielen zumindest je einmal getroffen.

• In der letzten Saison holte sich PSG den sechsten Meistertitel in der Ligue 1 in den letzten sieben Jahren sowie den achten insgesamt, in der UEFA Champions League tritt der französische Meister zum achten Mal in Folge an.

• Das beste Resultat in der Königsklasse war der Halbfinaleinzug 1995, in den letzten drei Jahren scheiterte Paris jeweils bereits im Achtelfinale, die vier Jahre zuvor war jeweils im Viertelfinale Endstation.

• 2018/19 stand Paris mit einem Bein bereits im Viertelfinale, hatte man das Hinspiel bei Manchester United doch mit 2:0 gewonnen, nur um dann vor eigenen Fans mit 1:3 den Kürzeren zu ziehen.

• Die Achtelfinalbilanz von Paris: vier Mal kam PSG weiter, drei Mal schied man aus..

 Mbappé: Seine Highlights für Paris
Mbappé: Seine Highlights für Paris

• Die Rückspiel-Pleite gegen United war erst die dritte Heimniederlage des Pariser Klubs in den letzten 54 Europapokal-Heimspielen, seit einem 2:4 gegen Hapoel Tel-Aviv in der Gruppenphase des UEFA-Pokals 2006/07 (35 Siege, 16 Remis) – zudem setzte es im Viertelfinale 2014/15 eine 1:3-Heimpleite gegen Barcelona sowie ein 1:2 gegen Real Madrid im Achtelfinal-Rückspiel 2017/18.

• Paris hat seine beiden früheren K.-o.-Duelle (mit Hin- und Rückspiel) gegen deutsche Klubs gewonnen, 2008/09 setzte man sich in der Runde der letzten 32 des UEFA-Pokals gegen Wolfsburg durch (2:0 H, 3:1 A) und 2013/14 im Achtelfinale der UEFA Champions League gegen Bayer Leverkusen (4:0 A, 2:1 H).

• Das letzte Heimspiel gegen einen deutschen Gegner gewann Paris in der Gruppenphase 2017/18 mit 3:0 gegen Bayern München. Die Franzosen haben noch nie zu Hause gegen einen deutschen Gegner verloren (6 Siege, 1 Remis), doch die folgende 1:3-Pleite in München beendete eine Serie von drei Siegen in Folge sowie sieben ungeschlagenen Spielen gegen deutsche Teams.

• Paris hatte das Auswärts-Hinspiel zuvor acht Mal verloren, trotzdem kamen sie fünf Mal noch weiter. In den letzten beiden Duellen schieden sie jedoch aus, zuletzt gegen Real Madrid im Achtelfinale der UEFA Champions League 2017/18 (1:3 A, 1:2 H).

• In den beiden Fällen, in denen Paris das Hinspiel auswärts 1:2 verloren hatte, folgte das Ausscheiden – gegen Juventus im Halbfinale des UEFA-Pokals 1992/93 (0:1 H) und gegen Benfica im Achtelfinale der UEFA Europa League 2010/11 (1:1 H).

• Die Bilanz von Paris in UEFA-Elfmeterschießen:
3:4 gegen die Rangers, dritte Runde im UEFA-Pokal 2001/02

Dortmund
• Dortmund belegte in dieser Saison mit zehn Punkten Platz zwei in der Gruppe F hinter Barcelona (14 Punkte). Entscheidend dafür war ein 2:1-Heimsieg am letzten Spieltag gegen Slavia Praha und eine gleichzeitige Heimniederlage von Inter gegen Barcelona. Nur drei Punkte holte der BVB in der Fremde, beim 2:0-Sieg in Prag. In Mailand unterlag man 0:2 und in Barcelona mit 1:3..

Höhepunkte 2. Spieltag: Slavia Praha - Dortmund 0:2
Höhepunkte 2. Spieltag: Slavia Praha - Dortmund 0:2

• Dortmund hat nur fünf seiner letzten zwölf Spiele in der UEFA Champions League gewonnen (U2, N5), vier davon in dieser Saison.

• Dortmund hat nur drei der letzten 15 Europapokal-Auswärtsspiele gewonnen (4U, 8N), jedoch alle drei in den letzten sieben Partien (4N) – und alle in der UEFA Champions League.

• Der deutsche Vizemeister der Saison 2018/19 spielt in dieser Saison zum 14. Mal in der UEFA Champions League; 1997 holte sich Dortmund den Titel, 2013 schaffte man es immerhin bis ins Finale. In sechs der letzten sieben Anläufe hat der BVB den Sprung ins Achtelfinale geschafft.

• Letzte Saison schied Dortmund im Achtelfinale mit insgesamt 0:4 gegen Tottenham aus (0:3 A, 0:1 H). Damit kam der Bundesligist im Achtelfinale bisher drei Mal weiter und schied zwei Mal aus.

• Dortmund hat die letzten fünf Auswärtsspiele in K.-o.-Runden der UEFA Champions League verloren, seit einem 4:2-Sieg bei Zenit im Achtelfinal-Hinspiel 2013/14. Bei diesen Niederlagen haben sie nur zwei Tore geschossen und zwölf kassiert.

• Der Hinspiel-Sieg gegen Paris war gerade mal der dritte Erfolg in den letzten 13 K.-o.-Partien in UEFA-Wettbewerben (3U, 7N).

• Die Bilanz der Dortmunder in K.-o.-Duellen (mit Hin- und Rückspiel) gegen französische Klubs ist positiv, drei Mal setzte sich der Bundesligist durch, zwei Mal schied er aus; allerdings scheiterte der BVB in seinen letzten zwei Anläufen, zuletzt im Viertelfinale gegen Monaco in der Saison 2016/17 der UEFA Champions League (2:3 H, 1:3 A).

• Monaco war auch der letzte Gegner aus Frankreich, gegen den der BVB antrat. In der letztjährigen Gruppenphase siegte Dortmund zuhause mit 3:0, die Tore erzielten Jacob Bruun Larsen, Paco Alcácer und Marco Reus, in Monaco schoss Raphaël Guerreiro beide Treffer beim 2:0-Erfolg der Deutschen.

• Dortmund hat fünf von zehn Auswärtspartien bei französischen Klubs verloren (3S, 2U); der Sieg letzte Saison bei Monaco war der zweite in den letzten acht Trips (2U, 4N).

• Dortmund ist in 17 von 18 UEFA-Duellen weitergekommen, wenn sie das Hinspiel zuhause gewonnen hatten, zuletzt gegen Atalanta in der Runde der letzten 32 der UEFA Europa League 2017/18 (3:2 H, 1:1 A). Zuvor hatten sie noch nie ein Hinspiel zuhause mit 2:1 gewonnen.

• Das letzte Mal, als der BVB in der UEFA Champions League das Hinspiel zu Hause gewann, war 2012/13 im Halbfinale gegen Real Madrid (4:1 H, 0:2 A). Nach einem Heimsieg im Hinspiel scheiterte Dortmund einzig in der dritten Runde des UEFA-Pokals 1987/88, als sie nach einem 3:0-Erfolg gegen Club Brugge in Belgien mit 0:5 nach Verlängerung untergingen.

• Dortmunds Bilanz in UEFA-Elfmeterschießen steht bei zwei Siegen und zwei Pleiten: 6:5 gegen Auxerre, Halbfinale im UEFA-Pokal 1992/93
3:1 gegen die Rangers, dritte Runde im UEFA-Pokal 1999/2000
2:4 gegen Club Brugge, dritte Qualifikationsrunde in der UEFA Champions League 2003/04
3:4 gegen Udinese, erste Runde im UEFA-Pokal 2008/09

Sonstiges

• Tuchel saß zwischen Juni 2015 und Mai 2017 auf der Trainerbank des BVB und gewann dort 2017 den DFB-Pokal.

Thomas Tuchel
Thomas Tuchel ©AFP/Getty Images

• Abdou Diallo wechselte im letzten Sommer von Dortmund nach Paris, nachdem er zuvor 28 Bundesligaspiele für den BVB absolviert hatte. 2017/18 hatte er in Mainz gespielt.

• Dan-Axel Zagadou kam 2011 als Zwölfjähriger zu PSG, sechs Jahre später wechselte er nach Dortmund; 2016/17 spielte er in seiner letzten Saison in Paris für das B-Team von PSG.

• Emre Can flog in Leverkusens 1:2-Niederlage gegen Paris im Rückspiel des Champions-League-Achtelfinals im März 2014 mit Gelb-Rot vom Platz

• Dortmunds Trainer Lucien Favre trainierte zwischen 2016 und 2018 den französischen Klub Nice und führte das Team aus Nizza 2016/17 bis auf Platz drei der Ligue 1 – die beste Platzierung seit 40 Jahren. In den vier Spielen gegen Paris gab es für ihn als Nice-Trainer einen Sieg, ein Remis und zwei Niederlagen.

• Haben in Deutschland gespielt:
Juan Bernat (Bayern München 2014-18)
Thilo Kehrer (Schalke 2012-18)
Julian Draxler (Schalke 2001-15, Wolfsburg 2015-17)

• Draxler erzielte beim 2:1-Sieg von Schalke gegen Dortmund 2012/13 ein Tor.

• Kehrer gelang beim 1:1 zwischen Schalke und Dortmund 2016/17 ebenfalls ein Treffer.

• Haben in Frankreich gespielt:
Thorgan Hazard (Lens 2007-12)
Raphaël Guerreiro (Caen 2012/13, Lorient 2013-16)

• Haben zusammen gespielt:
Juan Bernat & Mario Götze (Bayern München 2014-16)
Juan Bernat & Mats Hummels (Bayern München 2016-18)
Keylor Navas & Achraf Hakimi (Real Madrid 2017/18)

• Kylian Mbappé erzielte 2017 beim 3:2-Sieg von Monaco in Dortmund zwei Treffer und war auch im Rückspiel erfolgreich. Das Dortmunder Tor beim 1:3 erzielte damals Marco Reus.

• Teamkollegen in der Nationalmannschaft:
Thilo Kehrer, Julian Draxler & Mario Götze, Julian Brandt, Nico Schulz, Mats Hummels, Marco Reus, Emre Can (Deutschland)
Thomas Meunier & Thorgan Hazard, Axel Witsel (Belgien)

• Dank zweier Treffer von Edinson Cavani besiegte Uruguay 2018 bei der WM im Achtelfinale Portugal mit Guerreiro 2:1.

• Guerreiro siegte mit Portugal im Finale der UEFA EURO 2016 im Stade de France in St-Denis mit 1:0 n.V. gegen Gastgeber Frankreich.

Oben

Paris vs Dortmund Champions League preview: where to watch, predicted line-ups, team news

Paris Saint-Germain welcome Borussia Dortmund in their UEFA Champions League round of 16 decider – all you need to know.

Dortmund's Erling Haaland arrives in Paris ahead of the game
Dortmund's Erling Haaland arrives in Paris ahead of the game Borussia Dortmund via Getty Imag

Paris Saint-Germain welcome Borussia Dortmund in the UEFA Champions League round of 16 on 11 March at 21:00 CET. This page will update with team news, quotes and expert analysis as kick-off approaches.

PARIS VS DORTMUND BUILD-UP


Where to watch the game on TV

Fans can find their local UEFA Champions League broadcast partner(s) here.

What happened in the first leg?

Highlights: Dortmund-Paris 2-1
Highlights: Dortmund-Paris 2-1

Erling Braut Haaland took his UEFA Champions League tally for the season to ten with two more strikes, the second coming just two minutes after Neymar had registered what might prove a crucial away goal for Paris.

Possible line-ups

Paris: Navas; Kehrer, Marquinhos, Kimpembe, Bernat; Di María, Paredes, Gueye, Neymar; Cavani, Mbappé
Out: Dagba (knee), Herrera (thigh), Meunier (suspended), Thiago Silva (thigh), Verratti (suspended)
Misses next game if booked
: Di María

Dortmund: Bürki; Zagadou, Hummels, Piszczek; Hakimi, Can, Witsel, Guerreiro; Sancho, Haaland, Brandt
Out: Delaney (knee), Reus (thigh)
Misses next game if booked: T. Hazard

Expert predictions

Chris Burke, Paris reporter: The pressure on Paris is huge as they head into the biggest game of their season so far – and the biggest since Manchester United dumped them out of the round of 16 for a third consecutive campaign last year. Yet another dispiriting exit would surely spell the end for Thomas Tuchel, who hopes key men Kylian Mbappé and Neymar can provide the cutting edge lacking in a first leg that left the French champions still in with a fighting chance.

Steffen Potter, Dortmund reporter: The three weeks since the first leg have brought three Bundesliga wins for Dortmund, and while each of them was more about grinding out a result than displaying flair, it seems that the Black and Yellows have found a new stability, which could tip the scales in their favour for this difficult away test in Paris. Expect Julian Brandt or Thorgan Hazard to probably compete for the spot in attacking midfield next to Jadon Sancho.

Latest results

Paris
Form: WWWLD
Latest: Lyon 1-5 Paris, 04/03 – French Cup semi-finals
Where they stand: 1st in Ligue 1, French Cup final, League Cup final

Dortmund
Form: WWWWW
Latest: Mönchengladbach 1-2 Dortmund, 07/03
Where they stand: 2nd in Bundesliga

What the coaches say

Thomas Tuchel, Paris coach: "Winning 1-0 would be enough, but I don't really think we're a team that can go out to win 1-0. We like to attack and we'll go out to score as many goals as we can. If, at the end, we've scored one goal without conceding, I'll be absolutely delighted and have no regrets, but we'll try to do better than that. And I'm convinced we're in better shape now [than we were going into the first leg]."

Lucien Favre, Dortmund coach: "Anything is possible for us and I believe that we can win in Paris as well. We won the first leg and could have done so by a bigger margin. From a tactical perspective and in regards to our fighting spirit, we did a really good job in Dortmund. At the weekend [against Mönchengladbach], we gave a superb performance. We had pace going forward, created a lot of chances and had plenty of possession."

Previous meetings

• The teams' only past fixtures before the first leg came in the 2010/11 UEFA Europa League group stage, when both games ended all square. An 87th-minute goal from Paris substitute Clément Chantôme cancelled out Nuri Şahin's penalty opener for Dortmund five minutes into the second half on Matchday 3. The game at the Parc des Princes two weeks later finished goalless.

Watch goals from 2010 Dortmund-Paris clash
Watch goals from 2010 Dortmund-Paris clash

• Paris finished top of the section on 12 points, with Dortmund eliminated after finishing third on nine. The French club went on to reach the round of 16, losing to Benfica.

Form guide

Paris
• Paris won all but one of their six games in this season's group stage, dropping points only in a 2-2 draw at Real Madrid on Matchday 5. They beat the Spanish side 3-0 at the Parc des Princes in the opening round of fixtures, and twice defeated Club Brugge (5-0 a, 1-0 h) and Galatasaray (1-0 a, 5-0 h).

• Tuchel's side had the best defensive record in this season's group stage having conceded only twice, both goals against Madrid, although the defeat in Dortmund means they have now let in four goals in their last three UEFA Champions League matches.

• Paris have won nine of their last 14 UEFA Champions League matches (D3 L2) and have now scored in 31 consecutive games in the competition.

• Ligue 1 champions for the sixth time in seven years in 2018/19, and eighth time overall, this is the French side's eighth successive UEFA Champions League campaign.

• Semi-finalists in 1995, Paris have been knocked out in the round of 16 in the last three seasons having been eliminated in the quarter-finals in the four previous campaigns.

• In 2018/19, Paris looked set to reach the last eight after a 2-0 first-leg victory at Manchester United in the round of 16, but bowed out on away goals following a 3-1 home defeat.

• That gave Paris the round of 16 record W4 L3.

Watch Mbappé in action for Paris
Watch Mbappé in action for Paris

• The second-leg defeat against United was only the Parisian club's third reverse in their last 54 European home games since crashing 4-2 to Hapoel Tel-Aviv in the 2006/07 UEFA Cup group stage (W35 D16) – they also went down 3-1 to Barcelona in the 2014/15 quarter-finals and 2-1 against Real Madrid in the 2017/18 round of 16 second leg.

• Paris have won both of their previous two-legged knockout ties against German clubs, defeating Wolfsburg in the 2008/09 UEFA Cup round of 32 (2-0 h, 3-1 a) and Bayer Leverkusen in the 2013/14 UEFA Champions League round of 16 (4-0 a, 2-1 h).

• Paris's last home game against German opposition came in the 2017/18 group stage, a 3-0 win against Bayern Munchen. That extended the French side's record of never having lost at home to German visitors (W6 D1), although the subsequent 3-0 defeat in Munich ended a run of three successive wins, and seven games unbeaten, against German clubs, home and away.

• Paris have lost the away first leg on eight previous occasions; they have won five of those ties on aggregate, although they have lost the last two, most recently against Real Madrid in the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League round of 16 (1-3 a, 1-2 h).

• Paris have also suffered aggregate defeats in both ties when the away first leg has finished 1-2 – against Juventus in the 1992/93 UEFA Cup semi-finals (0-1 h) and Benfica in the 2010/11 UEFA Europa League round of 16 (1-1 h).

• Paris's European shoot-out record is W0 L1:
3-4 v Rangers, 2001/02 UEFA Cup third round

Dortmund
• Dortmund picked up ten points in this season's group stage to finish second behind Barcelona (14 points) in Group F, booking their place in the last 16 with a 2-1 home win against Slavia Praha on Matchday 6. Only three of their points came away from home; they lost at Internazionale (0-2) and Barcelona (1-3) after a 2-0 success at Slavia.

Matchday 2 highlights: Slavia Praha 0-2 Dortmund
Matchday 2 highlights: Slavia Praha 0-2 Dortmund

• Dortmund have won only five of their last 12 UEFA Champions League matches (D2 L5), including four this season.

• Dortmund have managed only three victories in their last 15 European away matches (D4 L8), although all of those wins have come in their last seven matches (L4) – and all in the UEFA Champions League.

• Second in the Bundesliga in 2018/19, this is Dortmund's 14th UEFA Champions League campaign; they were winners in 1997, and runners-up in 2013. BVB have now reached the round of 16 in six of their last seven participations.

• In last season's round of 16, Dortmund went down 4-0 on aggregate to Tottenham (0-3 a, 0-1 h). That gave the German club a record of W3 L2 at this stage of the competition.

• The loss at Tottenham made it five successive away defeats in UEFA Champions League knockout games for Dortmund, since a 4-2 victory at Zenit in the 2013/14 round of 16 first leg. They have scored only two goals in those defeats, conceding 12.

• The first-leg defeat of Paris was only the German club's third win in their last 13 knockout phase matches in UEFA competition (D3 L7).

• Dortmund's record in two-legged knockout ties against French clubs is W3 L2; having won the first three ties they have lost the last two, most recently against Monaco in the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League quarter-finals (2-3 h, 1-3 a).

• Monaco also provided the opposition for Dortmund's most recent matches with a Ligue 1 side, in last season's group stage; the German club won 3-0 at home thanks to goals from Jacob Bruun Larsen, Paco Alcácer and Marco Reus, and 2-0 away through Raphaël Guerreiro's double.

• Dortmund have lost five of their ten away games against French clubs (W3 D2); last season's success at Monaco was only their second victory in eight trips (D2 L4).

• Dortmund have won 17 of the 18 UEFA competition ties in which they won the first home leg, most recently against Atalanta in the 2017/18 UEFA Europa League round of 32 (3-2 h, 1-1 a). They have never previously won a first leg at home 2-1.

• The last time they won the first leg at home in the UEFA Champions League was in the 2012/13 semi-final against Real Madrid (4-1 h, 0-2 a). Their only elimination after a home first-leg win was in the 1987/88 UEFA Cup third round, when they won 3-0 at home to Club Brugge but lost the return in Belgium 5-0 after extra time.

• Dortmund's record in UEFA penalty shoot-outs is W2 L2:
6-5 v Auxerre, 1992/93 UEFA Cup semi-final
3-1 v Rangers, 1999/2000 UEFA Cup third round
2-4 v Club Brugge, 2003/04 UEFA Champions League third qualifying round
3-4 v Udinese, 2008/09 UEFA Cup first round

Links and trivia

• Tuchel was Dortmund coach between June 2015 and May 2017, winning the German Cup in 2016/17.

Thomas Tuchel has coached both of these sides
Thomas Tuchel has coached both of these sides©AFP/Getty Images

• Abdou Diallo joined Paris from Dortmund last summer, making 28 Bundesliga appearances in his only season with BVB. He spent 2017/18 at Mainz.

• Dan-Axel Zagadou joined Paris aged 12 in 2011, staying with the club for six years before signing for Dortmund; he spent 2016/17, his final campaign with Paris, in the B team.

• Emre Can was sent off for two yellow cards in Leverkusen's 2-1 loss at Paris in the UEFA Champions League round of 16 second leg in March 2014.

• Dortmund coach Lucien Favre was in charge of French side Nice between 2016 and 2018, guiding the club to third place in Ligue 1 in 2016/17 – their highest final placing for 40 years. His record against Paris was W1 D1 L2.

• Have also played in Germany:
Juan Bernat (Bayern München 2014–18)
Thilo Kehrer (Schalke 2012–18)
Julian Draxler (Schalke 2001–15, Wolfsburg 2015–17)

• Draxler scored in Schalke's 2-1 win against Dortmund in 2012/13.

• A Kehrer goal earned Schalke a 1-1 draw against Dortmund in 2016/17.

• Have played in France:
Thorgan Hazard (Lens 2007–12)
Raphaël Guerreiro (Caen 2012/13, Lorient 2013–16)

• Have played together:
Juan Bernat & Mario Götze (Bayern München 2014–16)
Juan Bernat & Mats Hummels (Bayern München 2016–18)
Keylor Navas & Achraf Hakimi (Real Madrid 2017/18)

• Kylian Mbappé scored twice in Monaco's 3-2 first-leg win at Dortmund in 2017, and was also on target in the return, when Reus got the Dortmund goal (1-3).

• International team-mates:
Thilo Kehrer, Julian Draxler, Emre Can & Mario Götze, Julian Brandt, Nico Schulz, Mats Hummels, Marco Reus (Germany)
Thomas Meunier & Thorgan Hazard, Axel Witsel (Belgium)

• Two Edinson Cavani goals helped Uruguay to a 2-1 win against Guerreiro's Portugal in the 2018 FIFA World Cup round of 16.

• Guerreiro was in the Portugal side that beat France in the UEFA EURO 2016 final at the Stade de France in St-Denis, playing 120 minutes in a 1-0 victory.